The Nevis School Board approved a slate of employment contracts Monday, including a renewed deal with Principal Brian Michaelson.

The 2019-20 contract with Michaelson includes a 2 percent salary increase, from $92,298 to $94,144; a $150 increase to his Voluntary Employees' Beneficiary Association (VEBA) plan, to $1,650 per year; and a $600 per year increase to his 403(b) retirement plan.

The school board approved two new employment contracts with Katelyn Rittgers as both a 0.5-time elementary physical education teacher and a 20- to 25-hour-per-week community education coordinator, with board member Ed Becker abstaining. The CE coordinator contract is effective 2019-21.

The board approved a new employment contract with facilities manager Dustin Wroolie, whom Superintendent Gregg Parks introduced to the school board.

Wroolie holds a Class A boiler’s license, has experience as a facilities manager and was highly recommended by his previous employers.

The school board approved two-year individual work agreements with nine employees who are not members of the classified school employees’ or teachers’ union.

They included bus mechanic Bruce Babler, school nurse Renee Becker, bookkeeper Kathy Edwards, Early Childhood Family Education coordinator Abigail Henry, technology coordinator Arnold Kading, payroll and benefits coordinator Theresa McBrady, transportation supervisor Daniel Stacey, lunch and playground monitor Cody Wicks and athletic/activity director Bryan Wormley.

As to why these contracts reflect a 3 percent salary increase, while union employees gained only 2 percent, Parks said the union employees receive steps and lanes, while workers on individual contracts do not. The nine also received a $150 increase to VEBA (to $1,650) and a $25 increase to their 403(b) plans (to $125).

The board also approved a bus drivers’ work agreement, with 2.2 percent increases in 2019 (to $20.50 per hour) and 2020 (to $20.95 per hour), an increase in training pay from $10 to $12 per hour, and a 50-cent hourly increase after 25 years of service.

In consent items and general business, the school board:

  • Approved a student participation grant application to the Minnesota State High School League Foundation. Last year, high school secretary Lynn Gustafson said, 112 students in grades 9-12 participated in activities that were unduplicated.

  • Approved elementary special education student teacher Nicole Walker from Southwest State University, who will be supervised by teacher Julie Anderson.

  • Approved the winter coaches and advisers list with temporary contracts, including art club adviser Tiffany Besonen; head boys basketball coach Scott Kramer, assistant coach Bill Dent and junior high coaches Tom Ahrendt and Brian DeWitt; head girls basketball coach Paul Schroeder, assistant coach Crystal Bessler and junior high coach Michael Weerts; FCCLA adviser and prom adviser Melinda Crimmins; jazz band director Lisa Moses; pep band director Noelle Johnson; and robotics co-mentors McKenzie Harris, Kay Netteberg, Olaf Netteberg and Dustin Wroolie.

  • Accepted donations totaling $5,849, including $1,535 to the yearbook, $645 to the book club, $2,000 to the Tiger Time program and $1,289 to the robotics club.

  • Reviewed policy updates regarding family and medical leave, harassment and violence, and mandatory reporting of child neglect and abuse.

The next school board meeting is scheduled for 7 p.m. Monday, Nov. 25 in the school media center.