Area township officials elected

Selected officials in some Hubbard, Wadena and Becker county townships were elected at the townships’ annual meetings on March 9.

Two Inlets Town Hall is one of 28 township buildings in Hubbard County. (Enterprise file photo)

Selected officials in some Hubbard, Wadena and Becker county townships were elected at the townships’ annual meetings on March 9. Other townships have their officer elections in November.

Except where otherwise noted, supervisors were elected for a three-year term and clerks or treasurers for a two-year term.

  • Blueberry Township: Jim Kangas, supervisor; Shar Lusti, treasurer.

  • Carsonville Twp.: Harvey Harvala filed for three-year term supervisor, Steve Lymburner for one-year term supervisor. Kathy Pachel filed for treasurer. There were 25 voters.

  • Crow Wing Lake Township: Jane Church, treasurer and Jaclyn Michlin, supervisor.

  • Fern Township: Barton Fast was newly elected as supervisor, while Amy Mart was re-elected as treasurer. There were 24 voters.

  • Green Valley Twp.: Dave Keranen filed for treasurer. Lowell Skoog won as write-in candidate for supervisor. There were 23 voters.

  • Hart Lake Township: Ruth Grandy, supervisor; Nancy Buckentin, treasurer.

  • Huntersville Township: Dorothy Kennelly, supervisor; Joel Holden, treasurer. Six voters attended the election.

  • Lake Hattie Township: Incumbents Lester Edelman, supervisor and Ted Stillwell, treasurer.

  • Osage Township: Jeff Tretbar won the supervisor seat. Kandess Erickson won the treasurer position. There were 109 voters.

  • Pine Point Township: Chris Magnuson, supervisor; Emily Yliniemi, treasurer. There are eight.

  • Savannah Township: Incumbent Vern Scholz won the supervisor position, while Michael Thelen was reelected as treasurer. There were nine voters.

  • Shell River Township: Lynn M. Johnson, supervisor; Michelle Newhouse, treasurer. There were 61 voters.

  • Straight River Township: Chad Mathison, supervisor; Kari Weston, clerk. There were a total of 20 voters.

  • Two Inlets Township: Dennis Wright, supervisor; Katie Kueber, treasurer. There were 19 voters.

  • Wolf Lake Township: Michael Chapman was reelected as supervisor and incumbent James Mayfield as treasurer.

Shannon Geisen is editor of the Park Rapids Enterprise.
What To Read Next
Mike Clemens, a farmer from Wimbledon, North Dakota, was literally (and figuratively) “blown away,” when his equipment shed collapsed under a snow load.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.