The period for filing for local offices on the Nov. 3 election ballot opens July 28 and closes at 5 p.m. August 11.

In Hubbard County, approximately 40 percent of voters will vote by mail ballots in 2020, according to County Auditor-Treasurer Kay Rave. In 2018, there were 1,600 voters in townships that opted for mail-in ballots, while in 2020 the number jumped to 5,300.

According to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office, the last day to send out mail ballots to those voters in a mail ballot precinct who are registered is July 28, no later than 14 days before the election.

Absentee ballots are only needed if someone lives in a town or township that has not already opted for mail-in ballots and does not want to vote in person or if the person voting will be out of state and unable to return a regular mail-in ballot.

Rave encourages voters who choose this option to get their applications in early. “We want to make it as easy as possible for people to vote,” she said.

Nevis City Council

On the Nevis City Council, the position of mayor currently held by Jarod Senger is up for election. This is a two-year term.

Seats for council members Sue Gray and Teresa Leshovsky will also be on the ballot. Both are four-year terms.

Anyone interested in filing for these positions can stop in at city hall from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday and pay a $2 filing fee. All residents will be receiving mail-in ballots for the November election.

Nevis School Board

On the Nevis School Board, there will be three seats up for election in November. Each seat is for a four-year term for the seats currently held by Larry Smith, Justin Isaacson and Maggie Stacey.

Those wishing to file can come to the high school or district offices to fill out the application. The cost to file is $2. Summer office hours to file are Monday through Thursday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. with the office open August 11 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The election will be held in conjunction with the general election in November.

Akeley City Council

In Akeley, the position of mayor held by Brian Hitchcock is up for election. This is a four-year position.

Two city council positions are also up for election – a four-year term for the seat held by Bobbie Wosika and a two-year term for the council position currently being filled by Nathan George in the interim for Margaret Bond-Vorel who has not been able to serve.

Affidavits of candidacy may be obtained from Akeley City Clerk-Treasurer Kristi Kath at city hall, located on 25 Broadway Street East. The filing fee is $3.

Menahga School Board

Three members will be elected for four-year terms in the November general election. Seats currently held by Julia Kicker, Brad Goehrig and Bob White. An affidavit of candidacy must be filed with the school district clerk and a $2 filing fee paid.

Menahga City Council

The Menahga mayor and two council member seats are part of the November election.

The mayoral seat, currently held by Joannie Liimatta, is a two-year position, expiring Jan. 10, 2022.

Council members Tim Ellingson and Karol Andreasen are up for election. These are four-year terms, expiring Jan. 8, 2024. To file for office, see City Administrator Curt Kreklau at Menahga City Hall. There is a $2 filing fee.

Park Rapids City Council

Seats up for election in November include the mayor (2 years) and two city council seats (4 years). Those seats are currently held by Mayor Ryan Leckner and council members Liz Stone and Bob Wills.

Park Rapids School Board

Three seats on the school board will be up for election on Nov. 3. All have four-year terms. The positions are currently held by Sherry Safratowich, Gary Gauldin and Jay Pike.

Instructions for voting by absentee ballot

  1. Register to vote. You can register to vote or update your registration online if you have a Minnesota driver’s license or state identification card. If not, download a paper application to mail in or drop off at the county election office. Applications are available in 12 languages and Braille.

  2. Request an absentee ballot. Eligible Minnesota voters can get an absentee ballot for any reason, including not wanting to go in person due to COVID-19. People can apply for a ballot anytime before Election Day and the application is available at Anyone without internet access may request an absentee ballot application by calling Hubbard County Auditor/Treasurer office at 218-732-3196.

  3. Vote and sign the envelope. Once you receive your absentee ballot, check if both sides of the ballot paper are printed correctly, vote your ballot and put it back in the envelope it came with. On the ballot envelope, write your name, physical address and ID DL number or last 4 digits of your social security number, and sign the envelope before sending it. For the August primary election, registered voters don’t need to have a witness to sign on the absentee ballot envelope. Witness requirements have not yet been changed for the November general election.

  4. Return your ballot by mail or any package delivery service. The ballot must be postmarked on or before election day and received by your county within two days of the election and by the day before the county canvass, which may take place within two to three days after the election.

Mail ballot precincts

The 18 mail ballot precincts in Hubbard County are as follows:

  • Akeley Township
  • Arago Township
  • Badoura Township (2020 only)
  • Clay Township
  • Crow Wing Lake Township (2020 only)
  • Helga Township (2020 only)
  • Hendrickson Township
  • Lake Alice Township
  • Lake Emma Township (2020 only)
  • Mantrap Township (2020 only)
  • Nevis Township (2020 only)
  • Schoolcraft Township
  • Steamboat River Township P1
  • Steamboat River Township P2
  • Thorpe Township
  • White Oak Township
  • City of Laporte
  • City of Nevis