Park Rapids earns starred performance at State One Act Play Festival


After watching, listening and then individually critiquing eight Class A dramatic productions, a panel of judges rated three of them “starred performances” on Friday, Feb. 14, during the 2014 State One Act Play Festival sponsored by the Minnesota State High School League. The two-day festival is conducted at O’Shaughnessy Auditorium on the St. Catherine University campus in St. Paul. The top eight Class A productions from across the state took the stage throughout the day. Park Rapids was one of three performances named a "starred performance" for "FREAK." Representing Section 6, Park Rapids Area’s “starred performance” of FREAK earned the school its 14th “starred” rating in its 27th appearance. The play, written by Angela Hill, was directed by Juliann Kjenaas and Jonathan Harrison. Cast members were Bobby Bruce, Jada Current, Paige Hill, Lewis Johnson, Danielle Lockrem, Noah Schulz, Jimmy Farmer, Myah Schultz, Katelynn Warmbold, Jena Stewart, Brandon Haller, Kate Westphal, Katy Spears, Madison Griffith, Madi Malzahn, and Marcus McKeever. Support personnel were Lisha Guisinger, Andrew Baldwin, and Joseph Bannerman.