A Minnesota presidential primary has been held four times in Minnesota’s history: 1916, 1952, 1956 and 1992. The state normally holds presidential caucuses instead. In 2016, Gov. Mark Dayton signed a bill reinstating a presidential primary on March 3, 2020. Early voting begins Jan. 17. The procedures for this presidential primary will be new to most of us. To understand the “nuts and bolts” of this new system, plan to attend the Park Rapids League of Women Voters’ (LWV) program, “Presidential Primary 101: The Nuts and Bolts” at 6 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 23 at the Northwoods Bank community room, Park Rapids. LWV members will review details, then there will be time for questions with a representative from the Hubbard County Auditor’s Office as well as Hubbard County election judges.