Weather Forecast


Tigers earn sweet win at Waubun

Shawn Klimek and the members of the Nevis football team had sour memories of the last game against Waubun.

The Tigers had nothing but sweet memories following Friday night's rematch.

In last year's Section 6 9-man championship game, Waubun rallied from a 28-12 deficit with 5:46 to play to stun the Tigers in a 32-28 victory to qualify for the state playoffs.

On Friday night, Waubun entered this rematch rated No. 1 in the state poll and boasting a 27-game winning streak during the regular season. Nevis was rated No. 8 in the state poll and sporting a 16-game winning streak during the regular season.

After Waubun opened the scoring, the Tigers controlled the rest of the game in posting an impressive 44-12 victory on the Bombers' home field in this battle of District 9 West North Division rivals.

After Nevis was forced to punt on its opening series, the Bombers marched 52 yards in five plays to open the scoring. Jayden Heisler followed runs of 16 and 20 yards with a 7-yard TD run as Waubun led 6-0 with 8:05 to play in the first quarter.

Nevis quickly responded to take the lead. On the second play from scrimmage, Jack DeWulf hit Luke DeWulf on a 67-yard scoring route. Jack DeWulf ran in the conversion as the Tigers held an 8-6 lead with 7:13 to play in the first quarter.

Waubun was forced to punt on the ensuing series and the Tigers marched 50 yards in six plays to pad their lead. Kyle Schmidt had runs of 14, 13 and 12 yards that set up a 2-yard TD run by Jack DeWulf. Luke DeWulf caught the conversion as Nevis held a 16-6 lead with 33 seconds to play in the first quarter.

The Bombers drove to the Nevis 25 before losing possession on downs. However, Dion Bower intercepted a pass at the Tigers' 40. A 17-yard run by Parker Syverson set up an 11-yard TD run by Tanner Lefebvre as Waubun trimmed the deficit to 16-12 with 5:43 to play in the first half. That drive covered 40 yards in four plays.

Nevis again responded with an eight-play, 53-yard scoring drive as Jack DeWulf hit Luke DeWulf on a 20-yard route and found Tom Wormley on a 7-yard reception to set up a 14-yard TD pass to Luke DeWulf. Jack DeWulf ran in the conversion to give the Tigers a 24-12 advantage with 2:10 remaining before halftime.

Zach Henry intercepted a pass at the Waubun 42 and Nevis' defense forced a punt to end the half.

Tucker Roehl intercepted a pass and returned it to the Waubun 35 to open the second half and the Tigers added to their lead with a four-play drive. Jack DeWulf rushed for 15 yards before Schmidt ended the drive with a 13-yard TD run. Jack DeWulf's conversion run made it 32-12 with 7:31 left in the third quarter.

A facemask penalty and 11-yard run by Tayvis Zima led the Bombers to the Nevis 42, but Nevis' defense recovered a fumble at the 31. A 10-play scoring drive followed as Henry's 16-yard reception, a 15-yard run by Jack DeWulf and a 17-yard reception by Michael Landquist set up a 1-yard scoring run by Jack DeWulf. That increased the lead to 38-12 at the 1:20 mark of the third quarter.

Nevis' defense forced two fumbles on the Bombers' next two possessions, with the second fumble recovery setting up a six-play, 40-yard scoring drive. Roehl's 12-yard carry set up an 11-yard TD run by Roehl to conclude the scoring with 4:57 remaining.

The Tigers compiled 382 yards in offense with Jack DeWulf completing 7 of 11 passes for 144 yards with Luke DeWulf making four receptions for 104 yards. Schmidt led Nevis' rushing attack with 134 yards on 18 carries as the Tigers racked up 238 yards on the ground.

Waubun racked up 220 yards in offense, but turned the ball over seven times. Syverson completed 8 of 16 passes for 69 yards and rushed 10 times for 50 yards while Heisler rushed six times for 52 yards and caught three passes for 27 yards.

Jack Landquist led Nevis' defense with 12 tackles (including eight solo stops) while Roehl was in on eight tackles. Jack DeWulf made four solo tackles while Sam Hitchcock assisted on six tackles. Luke DeWulf, Hitchcock, Jack Landquist, Ben Soldwisch and Wormley all recovered fumbles.

The last time Waubun lost in the regular season was a 34-20 loss to Warren-Alvarado-Oslo in October of 2013. Nevis' last loss during the regular season was a 39-28 overtime loss to Kelliher-Northome in August of 2015.

Nevis stayed atop the district standings, joining Norman County East/Ulen-Hitterdal and Rothsay at 3-0 after NCE/UH defeated Win-E-Mac 28-14 and Rothsay defeated Laporte 57-6. Waubun fell to 2-1 while Laporte (which lost to Verndale 59-8 on Sept. 11) and Win-E-Mac fell to 0-3.

In Friday night's other section games, Stephen-Argyle defeated Clearbrook-Gonvick 26-0, Goodridge-Grygla edged Northern Freeze 24-20 and Warren-Alvarado-Oslo defeated Kittson County Central 21-8. Nevis, NCE/UH and Stephen-Argyle are all 3-0 in the section while Waubun (2-1), Clearbrook-Gonvick (1-2), Goodridge-Grygla (1-2), Kittson County Central (1-2), Warren-Alvarado-Oslo (1-2), Northern Freeze (0-3) and Win-E-Mac (0-3) follow.

The Tigers host Northern Freeze this Friday night. Kick-off is set for 7 p.m.

Nevis 16 8 14 6...44

Waubun 6 6 0 0...12


W--Heisler 7 run (run failed)

N--L. DeWulf 67 pass from J. DeWulf (J. DeWulf run)

N--J. DeWulf 2 run (L. DeWulf pass from J. DeWulf)

W--Lefebvre 11 run (pass failed)

N--L. DeWulf 14 pass from J. DeWulf (J. DeWulf run)

N--Schmidt 13 run (J. DeWulf run)

N--J. DeWulf 1 run (pass failed)

N--Roehl 11 run (run failed)


RUSHING. Nevis: Schmidt 18-134, J. DeWulf 16-45, Roehl 9-36, L. DeWulf 2-10, Viet 3-14, Yabandith 1-(-1). Waubun: Syverson 10-50, Zima 4-20, Lefebvre 4-17.

PASSING. Nevis: J. DeWulf 7-11-1 for 144 yards. Waubun: Syverson 8-16-1 for 69 yards; Heisler 0-1-1 for 0 yards.

RECEIVING. Nevis: L. DeWulf 4-104, M. Landquist 1-17, Henry 1-16, Wormley 1-7. Waubun: Heisler 3-27, Bower 3-26, Zima 2-16.


SOLO TACKLES: J. Landquist 8, J. DeWulf 4, Roehl 4, Henry 3, McGee 3, Soldwisch 3, Schmidt 2, Veit 2, Wormley 2, M. Landquist 1, L. DeWulf 1.

ASSISTED TACKLES: Hitchcock 6, J. Landquist 4, Keezer 2, Wormley 2, Henry 1, M. Landquist 1, McGee 1, Schmidt 1.

INTERCEPTIONS: Henry 1, Roehl 1.

FUMBLE RECOVERIES: L. DeWulf 1, Hitchcock 1, J. Landquist 1, Soldwisch 1, Wormley 1.