Weather Forecast


Banquet to honor senior athletes

  Another outstanding group of senior athletes will be honored at the 36th annual Park Rapids All Sports Banquet Wednesday night at the Area High School Gymnasium.

     One of the highlights of the evening will be the announcing of the 2013 Female Student Athlete and 2013 Male Student Athlete. The 2013 Outstanding Male Athlete and Outstanding Female Athlete will also be announced. In addition, James Enfield and Julie (Benjamin) Colbalt will be inducted into the Panther Athletic Hall of Fame.

     This year there are 29 seniors who met the criteria for the Student Athlete and Outstanding Athlete awards.

     Meeting the criteria for Male Student Athlete are David Dirks, Zach Eystad, Ian Johnson, Ben Kading, Tanner Otterness, Jake Waggoner and Andy Waller.

     The qualifiers for the Female Student Athlete are Grace Bateman, Kaylee Hilmanowski, Tori Lauderbaugh, Lora Remus and Hannah Williams.

     To be eligible for the Student Athlete award, seniors must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.50 or be a top five qualifying student, be at least a two-sport athlete or a state participant in one sport in grades 10 through 12, and have no confirmed rules violations during their senior year.

     In addition to the five qualifiers for Female Student Athlete, the other qualifiers for the Outstanding Female Athlete are Jessi Andersen, Jordyn Bynum, Emily Creager, Katherine Erickson, Katelyn Hilmanowski, Caitlan Isaacson, Heather Kniss, Tonya Melott, Elizabeth Nichols, Morgan Olson, Jill Simpson and Ashley Thelen.

     In the running for the Outstanding Male Athlete are the Male Student Athlete qualifiers and Cory Gartner, Chris Goplerud, Kyle Goplerud, Chris Shaw and Kody Walsh.

     The criteria for the Outstanding Athlete award includes being at least a two-sport athlete or a state participant in grades 10-12, having no confirmed rules violations during their senior year and making satisfactory  progress towards graduation.

     Last year’s winners were Sam Coborn (Male Student Athlete), Lydia Lutz (Female Student Athlete), Forrest Drury (Outstanding Male Athlete), and Summer Ellefson and Shelby Pierce (Outstanding Female Athletes).

     Seating for this year’s banquet begins at 5:30 p.m. with the program starting at 6:15.

     Following the meal, the newest members of the Panther Hall of Fame will be inducted. All senior letterwinners will be recognized and scholarships and other awards will be presented. After the Parade of Champions and recognition of all state participants, the 2013 Male and Female Student Athletes and Outstanding Athletes will be announced.

     The high school music department will perform and the Panther video show showcasing the 2012-13 season for all 20 sports will cap off the evening.

     The program is put on by the Park Rapids Coaches Association.