Weather Forecast


Panthers get No. 6 seed, face Cardinals in opener

Defeating Wadena-Deer Creek and Perham twice during the regular season gave the Park Rapids boys tennis team the No. 6 seed for the Section 8A tournament.

The Panthers open section play at No. 3 Staples-Motley Monday afternoon at 4:30. Monday's other first-round matches pit No. 1 Thief River Falls against No. 8 W-DC, No. 2 Crookston against No. 7 Perham, and No. 4 East Grand Forks against No. 5 Detroit Lakes.

The section semifinals and finals will be played at Crookston Tuesday. The section individual tournament will also begin Tuesday. In doubles, Scott Smith and Mitch Fossen are the No. 7 and Chris Shaw and Josh Johnson are the No. 13 seed. In singles, Nick Lopez is the No. 13 seed and Calvin Bateman is the No. 14 seed.

A sweep in doubles and a forfeit gave the Panthers a 4-3 Mid-State Conference win over Wadena-Deer Creek last Friday at the Depot Courts.

Smith and Jeff Dickinson won in straight sets at No. 1 doubles, Coby Fite and Johnson rallied for a three-set win at No. 2 doubles, and Jackson Kimball and Jaden Olson didn't drop a game at No. 3 doubles to lead the Panthers.

Andrew Zinke received a forfeit win at No. 4 singles as the Panthers improved to 4-4 in conference matches.

The Panthers ended the regular season with a pair of losses to section rivals at Crookston Tuesday.

Crookston blanked the Panthers 7-0 in the first match while East Grand Forks prevailed 6-1 in the second match as the Panthers ended the regular season with a 4-10 record in dual meets. Fossen prevailed in straight sets at No. 3 singles against EGF for the Panthers' lone win on the day.

Park Rapids 4, W-DC 3

No. 1 singles: Austin Korkowski, WDC, over Chris Shaw 6-3, 6-2.

No. 2 singles: Mike Paavola, WDC, over Nick Lopez 6-0, 6-1.

No. 3 singles: Drew Larson, WDC, over Iain Wallace 6-1, 6-1.

No. 4 singles: Andrew Zinke, PR, won by forfeit.

No. 1 doubles: Scott Smith/Jeff Dickinson, PR, over Eliah Anderson/ Shane Perry 6-0, 6-3.

No. 2 doubles: Coby Fite/Josh Johnson, PR, over Matt Green/Kyung Hun Kim 4-6, 6-3, 6-2.

No. 3 doubles: Jackson Kimball/Jaden Olson, PR, over Nick Torkkola/Mike Small 6-0, 6-0.

Crookston 7, Park Rapids 0

No. 1 singles: Sean Williams, C, over Nick Lopez 6-0, 6-1.

No. 2 singles: Bobby Tiedemann, C, over Calvin Bateman 6-0, 6-0.

No. 3 singles: Cody Genereux, C, over Jeff Dickinson 6-0, 6-0.

No. 4 singles: A.J. Biermaier, C, over Iain Wallace 6-0, 6-0.

No. 1 doubles: Ross Forney/Travis Vatthauer, C, over Scott Smith/Mitch Fossen 6-0, 6-0.

No. 2 doubles: Ethan Mercil/Scott Grunewald, C, over Chris Shaw/Josh Johnson 6-1, 6-4.

No. 3 doubles: Kollin Erdman/Derek Ringdahl, C, over Coby Fite/Jackson Kimball 6-1, 6-2.

East Grand Forks 6, Park Rapids 1

No. 1 singles: Ty Misialek, EGF, over Scott Smith 6-1, 6-0.

No. 2 singles: Zach Straw, EGF, over Chris Shaw 6-3, 6-0.

No. 3 singles: Mitch Fossen, PR, over A.J. Albaaj 6-4, 6-3.

No. 4 singles: Eli Croaker, EGF, over Nick Lopez 7-5, 7-5.

No. 1 doubles: Eddie Eades/Alex Havis, EGF, over Calvin Bateman/Jeff Dickinson 6-1, 6-0.

No. 2 doubles: Ben Campos/Tyler Wertzema, EGF, over Coby Fite/Josh Johnson 6-3, 6-3.

No. 3 doubles: Chris Peterson/Jacob Cote, EGF, over Iain Wallace/Jaden Olson 6-4, 6-4.