Weather Forecast


Lutz, Park Rapids girls run to Mid-State titles

Lydia Lutz repeated as the individual champion in leading the Park Rapids girls cross-country team to the team title at Thursday's Mid-State Conference meet at Staples.

Isaac Overmyer became the first member of the Park Rapids boys cross-country team to win the Mid-State title since 1995 in leading the Panthers to third place.

Lutz, who is rated as the No. 6 individual in this week's state Class A poll, won her third consecutive conference title and fifth straight all-conference honor by covering the 4,000-meter course in 15 minutes, 41 seconds. Also earning all-conference honors with top-10 finishes were Summer Ellefson (eighth in 16:34), Shelby Pierce (ninth in 16:35) and Megan Olson (10th in 16:42) as the Panthers compiled 43 points. Detroit Lakes finished a distant second with 68 points. Park Rapids is rated No. 11 in this week's state Class A poll.

Rounding out the girls varsity were Lora Remus (19th in 17:36), Abby Mueller (26th in 17:59) and Kaylee Hilmanowski (28th in 18:06).

"I thought the girls really had a chance to win it. They have been having solid races and I knew they were ready," said Park Rapids head coach Kerry Johnson. "I figured Lydia had a good chance to win it. We haven't run against all those teams this year, so there can always be surprises. We weren't taking anything for granted. The key for us was having four girls in the top 10. I got worried when Long Prairie-Grey Eagle cane in 2, 3, 4, but then their fourth came in 31. Every runner is so important. It truly was a team effort."

Overmyer led the field by covering the 5,000-meter course in 17:22. The last conference champion for Park Rapids was Dane Larson, who won back-to-back Mid-State titles in 1994 and 1995.

Jake Waggoner (21st in 18:46), Bailey Mueller (22nd in 18:47), Tanner Otterness (28th in 19:20) and Ryan McBrady (36th in 19:43) led the Panthers to 108 points to tie Staples-Motley for third place. Brad Eischens (42nd in 20:12) and Jacob Hays (47th in 20:47) rounded out Park Rapids' varsity.

Detroit Lakes repeated as the boys champion with 40 points while Crosby-Ironton, which is rated No. 11 in this week's state Class A poll, was second with 42 points.

"I was pretty surprised by Isaac taking first. Isaac ran a smart race and he was so determined. He flew and pulled it out with a sprint to the end," said Johnson. "I was happy with how the guys did. C-I is ranked and DL is really tough. I wasn't sure what would happen. I knew it would be tough for the guys to beat those teams. It was good to close the gap on Staples. We need at least five good races on the same day. I think we're getting close."

In the junior varsity race, Nate Carlson (22nd in 21:18), Austin Carlson (25th in 21:49), Nathaniel Rairdon (30th in 22:28), Matthew Konshok (33rd in 23:04), Ben Kading (44th in 23:51), Cody Brumbaugh (45th in 23:58) and Nick Schulz (50th in 24:59) competed for Park Rapids in the boys race while Morgan Olson (second in 18:12) and Maya Johnson (third in 18:13) ran for the Panthers in the girls race. Jacob Bridgman (22nd in 12:47) and Cole Coborn (27th in 13:02) ran in the boys 3,200-meter junior high race.

"All these runners have been dropping time and working so hard," said Johnson. "I was proud of both teams. They've worked hard and they are getting results."

Girls team scores: Park Rapids 43, Detroit Lakes 68, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 75, Pequot Lakes 82, Crosby-Ironton 100, Staples-Motley 136, Wadena-Deer Creek incomplete.

Individual results

1, Lydia Lutz, PR, 15:41. 2, Emma Schmitz, WDC, 16:17. 3, Ana Juarez, LPGE, 16:19. 4, Madelyn Zastrow, LPGE, 16:20. 5, Natalie Minke, LPGE, 16:23. 6, Haley Christoffersen, SM, 16:30. 7, Abby Ullyott, DL, 16:34. 8, Summer Ellefson, PR, 16:34. 9, Shelby Pierce, PR, 16:35. 10, Megan Olson, PR, 16:42. 19, Lora Remus, PR, 17:36. 26, Abby Mueller, PR, 17:59. 28, Kaylee Hilmanowski, PR, 18:06.

Boys team scores: Detroit Lakes 40, Crosby-Ironton 42, Park Rapids 108, Staples-Motley 108, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 109, Pequot Lakes 126, Wadena-Deer Creek 181.

Individual results

1, Isaac Overmyer, PR, 17:22. 2, Jude Severson, CI, 17:24. 3, Wes Bakken, DL, 17:40. 4, Michael Ryan, PL, 17:46. 5, Jacob Goodwin, CI, 17:50. 6, Will Goodwin, CI, 17:51. 7, Jason Stallman, DL, 17:56. 8, Derek Warner, LPGE, 17:57. 9, Travis King, DL, 17:58. 10, Zach Foltz, DL, 17:59. 21, Jake Waggoner, PR, 18:46. 22, Bailey Mueller, PR, 18:47. 28, Tanner Otterness, PR, 19:20. 36, Ryan McBrady, PR, 19:43. 42, Brad Eischens, PR, 20:12. 47, Jacob Hays, PR, 20:47.