Weather Forecast


Lutz, Panthers win titles

Isaac Overmyer led the Park Rapids boys cross-country team with a fifth-place finish at Tueday's Bagley/Fosston Invitational.1 / 2
Lora Remus was the No. 5 runner for the Park Rapids girls cross-country team at Tuesday's Bagley/Fosston Invitational by placing 26th overall in 17:34.2 / 2

Lydia Lutz led the field for the third consecutive meet in leading the Park Rapids girls cross-country team to its second consecutive title Tuesday.

Lutz, who is rated as the No. 10 runner in this week's state Class A poll, covered the rain-soaked 4,000-meter course in 15 minutes, 32 seconds as the Panthers tallied 63 points to lead the 18-team field at the Bagley/ Fosston Invitational. Lake of the Woods' Victoria Alexander, who was rated No. 5 in this week's poll, finished second in 15:51 while International Falls finished a distant second in the team standings with 86 points.

Summer Ellefson finished ninth in 16:42 and Shelby Pierce was 15th in 16:48 for the Panthers. Rounding out the varsity squad were Megan Olson (21st in 17:16), Lora Remus (26th in 17:34), Abby Mueller (31st in 17:55) and Kaylee Hilmanowski (34th in 18:02).

In the boys meet, Isaac Overmyer finished fifth overall in 17:45 in leading Park Rapids to fifth place with 120 points. Thief River Falls led the 20-team boys field with 45 points.

Rounding out the Panthers' team score were Jake Waggoner (21st in 18:32), Bailey Mueller (26th in 18:47), Tanner Otterness (33rd in 19:07) and Brad Eischens (57th in 20:12). Jacob Hays (62nd in 20:20) and Nate Carlson (65th in 20:23) completed the Panthers' varsity team.

Hawley's Matthew Lundstrom won the boys title by covering the 5,000-meter course in 17:29.

In the junior varsity race, Ryan McBrady (14th in 20:56), Austin Carlson (18th in 21:20), Matthew Konshok (35th in 22:55), Nathaniel Rairdon (39th in 23:36), Cody Brumbaugh (40th in 23:37), Adam Mackley (41st in 23:57) and Ben Kading (46th in 24:57) competed for the boys while Maya Johnson (second in 18:27) competed for the girls. Jacob Bridgman (51st in 14:19), Cole Coborn (56th in 14:31) and Zach Nelson (103rd in 18:08) ran in the boys 3,200 junior high race.

United North Central finished seventh in the girls varsity race with 151 points. Leading the Warriors were Joy Haataja (24th in 17:30), Anna Olson (22nd in 17:31), Jill Isaacson (35th in 18:03), Andrea Korvela (36th in 18:10) and Sarah Kuismi (46th in 18:31).

The Warriors fielded an incomplete team in the boys varsity race. Competing for UNC were Ryan Johnson (22nd in 18:39), Luke Graham (47th in 19:43) and Jeff Johnson (72nd in 20:36).

Girls team scores: Park Rapids 63, International Falls 86, Warroad 110, Pelican Rapids 139, Pequot Lakes 145, Thief River Falls 148, United North Central 151, Roseau 155, Trek North 197, Pine River-Backus 264, Wadena-Deer Creek 273, Staples-Motley 293, Lake Park-Audubon 301. Incomplete teams: Bagley/Fosston, East Grand Forks, Hawley/Ulen-Hitterdal, Indus, Lake of the Woods.

Individual results

1, Lydia Lutz, PR, 15:32. 2, Victoria Alexander, LOW, 15:51. 3, Gretta Brunelle, W, 15:54. 4, Emily Bakken, Pelican, 16:09. 5, Marissa Carlson, BF, 16:16. 9, Summer Ellefson, PR, 16:42. 15, Shelby Pierce, PR, 16:48. 21, Megan Olson, PR, 17:16. 24, Joy Haataja, UNC, 17:30. 25, Anna Olson, UNC, 17:31. 26, Lora Remus, PR, 17:34. 31, Abby Mueller, PR, 17:55. 34, Kaylee Hilmanowski, PR, 18:02. 35, Jill Isaacson, UNC, 18:03. 36, Andrea Korvela, UNC, 18:10. 46, Sarah Kuismi, UNC, 18:31. 49, Emily Keranen, UNC, 18:37.

Boys team scores: Thief River Falls 45, Hawley/Ulen-Hitterdal 100, Staples-Motley 101, Pelican Rapids 106, Park Rapids 120, Pequot Lakes 129, Roseau 165, International Falls 173, Bagley/Fosston 232, Warroad 259, Lake of the Woods 313, Lake Park-Audubon 331. Incomplete teams: Crookston, East Grand Forks, Indus, Perham, Pine River-Backus, Trek North, United North Central, Wadena-Deer Creek.

Individual results

1, Matthew Lundstrom, HUH, 17:29. 2, Wesley Davies, BF, 17:30. 3, Cody Pahlen, TRF, 17:40. 4, Michael Ryan, PL, 17:44. 5, Isaac Overmyer, PR, 17:45. 21, Jake Waggoner, PR, 18:32. 22, Ryan Johnson, UNC, 18:39. 26, Bailey Mueller, PR, 18:47. 33, Tanner Otterness, PR, 19:07. 47, Luke Graham, UNC, 19:43. 57, Brad Eischens, PR, 20:12. 62, Jacob Hays, PR, 20:20. 65, Nate Carlson, PR, 20:23. 72, Jeff Johnson, UNC, 20:36.