Weather Forecast


Panthers finish 2nd, 4th at Wadena meet

Park Rapids' Lydia Lutz clocked runner-up honors in the girls meet at Tuesday's Wadena-Deer Creek Invitational.1 / 4
Taylor Kimball was the top finisher for the Park Rapids boys cross-country team at Tuesday's Wadena-Deer Creek Invitational.2 / 4
Tiffany Deitchler led a group of runners during Tuesday's Wadena-Deer Creek Invitational.3 / 4
Matt Sullivan was the No. 6 finisher for the Park Rapids boys cross-country team at Tuesday's Wadena-Deer Creek Invitational.4 / 4

Park Rapids' Lydia Lutz and Nevis' Bryon Schuldt clocked runner-up times at Tuesday's Wadena-Deer Creek Invitational cross-country meet.

Lutz covered the 4,000-meter girls course in 15:52 while Schuldt covered the 5,000-meter boys course in 17:03. Schuldt is rated as the state Class A's No. 9 runner in the first state poll.

Alex Pederson finished eighth in 17:14, Kaylee Hilmanowski was 10th in 17:22, Morgan Olson placed 14th in 17:28 and Lora Remus was 15th in 17:30 as Park Rapids finished second in the girls meet with 40 points. Shelby Pierce (17th in 17:33) and Tiffany Deitchler (21st in 18:41) completed the Panthers' varsity team. Park Rapids is rated No. 6 in the first state Class A poll.

Little Falls, led by Manon Gammon-Deering's winning time of 15:36, won the team title with 31 points. Staples-Motley was third with 56 points. Six schools had incomplete teams. Competing for United North Central were Emily Keranen (28th in 19:50), Jill Isaacson (29th in 19:51), Sarah Quismi (30th in 20:59) and Madlin Lausten (31st in 21:12).

In the boys race, the Panthers finished fourth with 86 points. Little Falls led the way with 54 points, followed by Long Prairie-Grey Eagle with 66 points and Ottertail Central with 86 points. United North Central placed seventh with 172 points.

Leading the Panthers were Taylor Kimball (13th in 18:56), Isaac Overmyer (16th in 19:07), Jake Waggoner (20th in 19:28), Zac Haugland (23rd in 19:40), Bailey Mueller (26th in 19:44), Matt Sullivan (29th in 19:55) and Tanner Otterness (35th in 20:09). Preston Zimny of Little Falls led the pack with a winning time of 17:02.

Jonathan Miller led UNC with a fourth-place time of 18:05. Luke Graham (49th in 22:11), Jeff Johnson (51st in 23:55), Tom Houle (52nd in 27:09) and Eric Aker (53rd in 27:49) completed the Warriors' team score.

In the junior varsity race, Travis Deitchler was fifth in 20:37, Jacob Hays was 13th in 21:25, Ryan McBrady was 15th in 21:42, Kevin Merfeld was 18th in 21:57, Josh Hays was 28th in 23:31 and Ben Kading was 38th in 25:41 for the Panthers. Completing the 3,200-meter junior high race for Park Rapids were Adam Mackley (ninth in 13:30), Matt Konshok (23rd in 15:06) and Wesley LaCoursiere (36th in 17:35).

The Panthers will compete in the Pelican Rapids Invitational Monday.

Girls team scores: Little Falls 31, Park Rapids 40, Staples-Motley 56. Incomplete teams: Bagley/Fosston, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle, Ottertail Central, Pillager, United North Central, Wadena-Deer Creek.

Individual results

1, Manon Gammon-Deering, LF, 15:36. 2, Lydia Lutz, PR, 15:52. 3, Lisa Riechert, SM, 16:06. 4, Emma Pogreba, SM, 16:11. 5, Mattia Hendrickson, LF, 16:28. 8, Alex Pederson, PR, 17:15. 10, Kaylee Hilmanowski, PR, 17:22. 14, Morgan Olson, PR, 17:28. 15, Lora Remus, PR, 17:30. 17, Shelby Pierce, PR, 17:33. 21, Tiffany Deitchler, PR, 18:41. 28, Emily Keranen, UNC, 19:50. 29, Jill Isaacson, UNC, 19:51. 30, Sarah Quismi, UNC, 20:59. 31, Madlin Lausten, UNC, 21:12.

Boys team scores: Little Falls 54, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 66, Ottertail Central 71, Park Rapids 86, Staples-Motley 110, Bagley/Fosston 147, United North Central 172. Incomplete teams: Nevis, Pillager, Wadena-Deer Creek.

Individual results

1, Preston Zimny, LF, 17:02. 2, Bryon Schuldt, N, 17:03. 3, Ricky Devine, LF, 17:23. 4, Jonathan Miller, UNC, 18:05. 5, Ryan Olson, OTC, 18:17. 13, Taylor Kimball, PR, 18:56. 16, Isaac Overmyer, PR, 19:07. 20, Jake Waggoner, PR, 19:28. 23, Zac Haugland, PR, 19:40. 26, Bailey Mueller, PR, 19:44. 29, Matt Sullivan, PR, 19:55. 35, Tanner Otterness, PR, 20:09. 49, Luke Graham, UNC, 22:11. 51, Jeff Johnson, UNC, 23:55. 52, Tom Houle, UNC, 27:09. 53, Eric Aker, UNC, 27:49.