Weather Forecast


Panthers, Warriors eliminated

     Frazee used a quarterfinal victory over Park Rapids to capture the Section 8A wrestling title Saturday at Thief River Falls.

     Park Rapids, the No. 8 seed, opened the section tournament with a 42-32 win over No. 9 Red Lake County Central before being eliminated with a 64-10 loss to No. 1 Frazee, who defeated No. 5 Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 63-14 in the semifinals and No. 2 Badger/Greenbush/Middle River 46-12 in the title match.

     In the win over RLCC, the Panthers jumped out to a 30-8 lead before holding off a late rally.

     Jared Sunram’s first-period pin at 113 pounds, Andrew Goltz’s forfeit win at 120 and Nolan Booge’s forfeit win at 126 gave the Panthers a quick 18-5 advantage.

     Forfeit wins by Justin Dravis at 145 and Cody Dravis at 152 gave the Panthers a 30-8 lead before RLCC used pins in four of the next five matches to cut the gap to 36-32. John Kyllonen had a first-period pin at 182 for the Panthers during that stretch.

     Chris Baxter’s second-period pin in the heavyweight match gave the Panthers the win as RLCC closed the season with a 6-12 record.

     Frazee backed up its ranking as the No. 2-rated team in the latest state Class A poll by coasting past the Panthers in the quarterfinals.

     Justin Dravis’ pin in the third period at 145 and Kyllonen’s 15-1 major decision at 195 accounted for the Panthers’ only wins.

     Frazee will carry a 19-1 record to state while the Panthers closed the season with an 11-13 record.

Park Rapids 42, RLCC 32

106: Dylan Gustafson, RLCC, technical fall over Landen Burlingame 17-1. 113: Jared Sunram, PR, pinned Tyler Sandahl :29. 120: Andrew Goltz, PR, won by forfeit. 126: Nolan Booge, PR, won by forfeit. 132: Double forfeit. 138: Cody Gagner, RLCC, minor decision over Logan Johnson 8-4. 1345: Justin Dravis, PR, won by forfeit. 152: Cody Dravis, PR, won by forfeit. 160: Jacob Magness, RLCC, pinned Zach Nelson 1:40. 170: Cameron Lundeen, RLCC, pinned Zachary Tretbar 3:15. 182: John Kyllonen, PR, won by forfeit. 195: James Hanson, RLCC, pinned Keith McDaniel :48. 220: Tristan Larson, DLCC, pinned Logan Veo 3:13. 285: Chris Baxter, PR, pinned Blake DeHate 2:51.

Frazee 64, Park Rapids 10

106: Tanner Eischens, F, pinned Landon Burlingame :56. 113: Tanner Reetz, F, pinned Jared Sunram 3:45. 120: Byron Byer, F, pinned Andrew Goltz :42. 126: Grant Jepson, F, minor decision over Nolan Booge 9-3. 132: Jordan Olson, F, won by forfeit. 138: Austin Skillings, F, pinned Logan Johnson :54. 145: Justin Dravis, PR, pinned Hunter Sorenson 4:45. 152: Nathan Starry, F, pinned Cody Dravis 3:55. 160: Tanner Bachmann, F, major decision over Zach Nelson 11-1. 170: McKalen Hedlund, F, minor decision over Zachary Tretbar 10-3. 182: Kody VanDenEykel, F, pinned Zachary Hocking :13. 195: John Kyllonen, PR, major decision over Ryan Brandt 15-1. 220: Brandon DeGroat, F, pinned Logan Veo :58. 285; Garrett Malstrom, F, pinned Chris Baxter :53.

Warriors fall in semifinals

     United North Central edged Crookston 39-34 in the quarterfinals before falling to Badger/Greenbush/Middle River 41-26 in the semifinals.

     In the quarterfinal match against Crookston, the Warriors trailed 28-21 before rallying for the win.

     Ben Johnson’s first-period pin at 106 and Austin Bacon’s 7-5 minor decision at 126 were the only wins for the Warriors in the first six matches as Crookston took a 19-9 lead.

     Wyatt Puttonen’s third-period pin at 145 and Sam Tellers’ first-period pin at 160 gave UNC a 21-19 edge before the Pirates won the next two matches.

     The Warriors rallied for the win behind three straight pins by Tanner Bacon at 182, Tristan Palmer at 195 and Taylor Carlson at 220 as Crookston closed the season with a 10-7 record.

     In the semifinals, BGMR jumped out to a 38-0 lead en route to eliminating the Warriors.

     UNC put together a late rally behind Sam Tellers’ 7-2 decision at 160 and first-period pins by Dylan Huttonen at 170, Tanner Bacon at 182, Palmer at 195 and Carlson at 220.

     UNC, which was rated No. 19 in the latest state Class A poll, ended the season at 11-6 while BGMR closed the year with a 14-4 record.

United North Central 39, Crookston 34

106: Ben Johnson, UNC, pinned Hunter Baranski 1:38. 113: Preston Desrosier, C, won by forfeit. 120: Colton Weiland, C, minor decision over Toby Hintzman 7-3. 126: Austin Bacon, UNC, minor decision over Kyle Caputo 7-5. 132: Cody Weiland, C, major decision over Tommy Tellers 13-5. 138: Nathan Merten, C, pinned Logan Walz :58. 145: Wyatt Puttonen, UNC, pinned Shad Steer 4:44. 152: Sam Tellers, UNC, pinned Zachary Lutz 1:32. 160: Blake Bergeron, C, pinned Tyler Eckman 3:11. 170: Luke Edlund, C, minor decision over Dylan Huttunen 8-5. 182: Tanner Bacon, UNC, pinned Jonathan Frazee 1:27. 195: Tristan Palmer, UNC, pinned Jesse Bosquez 1:05. 220: Taylor Carlson, UNC, pinned Felix Longoria 2:44. 285: A.J. Biermaier, C, pinned Landon Oshie :34.

BGMR 41 United North Central 27

106: Isaak Isane , BGMR, minor decision over Ben Johnson 7-3. 113: Nash Sovde, BGMR, won by forfeit. 120: Wyatt Becker, BGMR, major decision over Toby Hintzman 8-0. 126: Nick Kaml, BGMR, major decision over Austin Bacon 14-1. 132: Devin Dostal, BGMR, minor decision over Tommy Tellers 3-0. 138: Trevor Underberg, BGMR, pinned Logan Walz 4:25. 145: Cory Hasbrouck, BGMR, pinned Wyatt Puttonen :14. 152: Brandon Waage, BGMR, won by forfeit. 160: Sam Tellers, UNC, minor decision over Dakota Gullickson 7-2. 170: Dylan Huttonen, UNC, pinned Elias Jacobson 1:38. 170: 182: Tanner Bacon, UNC, pinned Daron Sikorski 1:55. 195: Tristan Palmer, UNC, pinned Beau Blumer 1:58. 220: Taylor Carlson, UNC, pinned Trinity Clark 1:32. 285: Douglas Peterson, BGMR, minor decision over Landon Oshie 7-2.