Weather Forecast


Wrestlers cap off home invitational with victory over Wolverines

Park Rapids' Chris Baxter pinned Little Falls' Tom Tabbatt in their 285-pound match of Saturday's Park Rapids Invitational.

     Four pins and three forfeits helped the Park Rapids wrestling team cap off Saturday’s Park Rapids Invitational with its first win of the season.

     Dawson-Boyd defeated the Panthers 73-6 in the first match and Little Falls defeated the Panthers 57-24 in the second match before the Panthers routed Wadena-Deer Creek 48-6 in the final match at the Century School gym.

     In Saturday’s other matches, Little Falls defeated W-DC 84-0 and Dawson-Boyd 39-25 while Dawson-Boyd defeated W-DC 78-3.

     John Kyllonen’s second-period pin at 195 pounds accounted for the Panthers’ lone win against Dawson-Boyd.

     In the match against Little Falls, Jared Sunram’s second-period pin at 120, Justin Dravis’ second-period pin at 152, Kyllonen’s second-period pin at 195 and Chris Baxter’s first-period pin at heavyweight accounted for the Panthers’ four wins.

     Pins by Logan Johnson at 135, Cody Dravis at 160, Zack Tretbar at 182 and Kyllonen at 220 and forfeit wins by Landen Burlingame at 106, Toby Ritter at 113 and Sunram at 120 sparked the Panthers past W-DC. Anthony Ritter at 145 and Baxter at heavyweight added minor decisions for the Panthers.

Dawson-Boyd 73, Park Rapids 6

106: Peyton Mortenson, DB, pinned Landen Burlingame 1:03. 113: Christian Kanten, DB, won by forfeit. 120: Donny Bothun, DB, minor decision over Jared Sunram 11-8. 126: Jordan Bothun, DB, won by forfeit. 132: Bailey Eickoff, DB, won by forfeit. 138: Spencer Sulflow, DB, pinned Logan Johnson 3:15. 145: Logan Knoshal, DB, pinned Anthony Ritter 3:06. 152: Mitch Kwilinski, DB, minor decision over Justin Dravis 5-0. 160: Mason Kwilinski DB, pinned Zach Nelson 1:00. 170: Joe Weeding, DB, pinned Zach Tretbar :58. 182: Kasey Wilander, DB, won by forfeit. 195: John Kyllonen, PR, pinned David Nelson 3:22. 220: Marcus Kranz, DB, pinned Logan Veo :21. 285: Jake Lehmann, DB, pinned Chris Baxter 3:04.

Little Falls 57, Park Rapids 24

106: Leo Wilczek, LF, pinned Toby Ritter :23. 113: Lane Rutten, LF, won by forfeit. 120: Jared Sunram, PR, pinned Jacob Biermaier 3:56. 126: Logan Kapphahn, LF, won by forfeit. 132: Josh Beack, LF, won by forfeit. 138: Dan Mushel, LF, pinned Logan Johnson 1:32. 145: Justin Jenks, LF, pinned Anthony Ritter :50. 152: Justin Dravis, PR, pinned Axel Lange 3:10. 160: Derek McMahan, LF, won by forfeit. 170: Austin Olson, LF, minor decision over Zack Tretbar 4-1. 182: Tyler Gastecki, LF, won by forfeit. 195: John Kyllonen, PR, pinned Gage Blechinger 3:15. 220: Trysten Ross, LF, pinned Logan Veo :57. 285: Chris Baxter, PR, pinned Tom Tabbatt 1:38.

Park Rapids 48, W-DC 6

106: Landen Burlingame, PR, won by forfeit. 113: Toby Ritter, PR, won by forfeit. 120: Jared Sunram, PR, won by forfeit. 126: Double forfeit. 132: Double forfeit. 138: Logan Johnson, PR, pinned Carter Wright 4:54. 145: Anthony Ritter, PR, minor decision over Lance Pierce 6-2. 152: Devin Barthel, WDC, minor decision over Justin Dravis 2-1. 160: Cody Dravis, PR, pinned Austin Koljonen :35. 170: Blayne Snyder, WDC, minor decision over Zach Hocking 6-0. 182: Zack Tretbar, PR, pinned Isaac Malone 4:30. 195: Double forfeit. 220: John Kyllonen, PR, pinned Caleb Monson 3:14. 285: Chris Baxter, PR, minor decision over Branson Monson 4-0.

Panthers drop pair at Menahga

     The Panthers opened the season by dropping a pair of dual meets at Menahga.

     Sunram’s 7-2 minor decision at 126, Justin Dravis’ 10-7 minor decision at 160 and forfeit wins by Logan Veo at 220 and Baxter at heavyweight accounted for the Panthers’ four wins in a 42-18 loss to Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena.

     Sunram received a forfeit win at 126, Johnson posted a 9-2 minor decision at 138 and Justin Dravis recorded a pin at 160 as the Panthers fell to United North Central 60-15. Ben Johnson at 106, Liam Cochran at 113, Morgan Olson at 120, Wyatt Puttonen at 145, Sam Tellers at 152, Tanner Bacon at 182, Tristan Palmer at 195, Logan Olson at 220 and Taylor Carlson at heavyweight had pins for the Warriors.

BCLB 42, Park Rapids 18

106: Andrew Nissen, BCLB, pinned Landen Burlingame 1:25. 113: Luke Reiplinger, BCLB, won by forfeit. 120: Ian Frenzel, BCLB, won by forfeit. 126: Jared Sunram, PR, minor decision over Tyler Bird 7-2. 132: Kyle Michalek, BCLB, won by forfeit. 138: Tanner George, BCLB, pinned Logan Johnson 3:11. 145: Joe Pheiffer, BCLB, minor decision over Anthony Ritter 5-4. 152: Mason Frenzel, BCLB, pinned Zach Nelson :56. 160: Justin Dravis, PR, minor decision over Nathan Jablonski 10-7. 170: Daven Staples, BCLB, won by forfeit. 182: Cooper Jedlicka, BCLB, pinned Zack Tretbar 5:11. 195: Tanner Templin, BCLB, minor decision over John Kyllonen 6-3. 220: Logan Veo, PR, won by forfeit. 285: Chris Baxter, PR, won by forfeit.

UNC 60, Park Rapids 15

106: Ben Johnson, UNC, pinned Landen Burlingame 1:26. 113: Liam Cochran, UNC, pinned Toby Ritter :27. 120: Morgan Olson, UNC, pinned Andrew Goltz 1:01. 120: Jared Sunram, PR, won by forfeit. 132: Tommy Tellers, UNC, won by forfeit. 138: Logan Johnson, PR, minor decision over Cade LaCoe 9-2. 145: Wyatt Puttonen, UNC, pinned Anthony Ritter 3:11. 152: Sam Tellers, UNC, pinned Zach Nelson 1:01. 160: Justin Dravis, PR, pinned Tyler Eckman 1:30. 170: Dylan Huttunen, UNC, won by forfeit. 182: Tanner Bacon, UNC, pinned Zack Tretbar 5:09. 195: Tristan Palmer, UNC, pinned John Kyllonen 4:44. 220: Logan Olson, UNC, pinned Logan Veo 4:26. 285: Taylor Carlson, UNC, pinned Chris Baxter 3:11.