Weather Forecast


East Grand Forks eliminates Panthers in first round

East Grand Forks won the final two matches to upset Park Rapids 47-36 in the first round of the Section 8AA wrestling tournament Saturday at Thief River Falls.

Park Rapids, the No. 7 seed, held a 36-35 lead before the No. 10-seeded Green Wave used two pins in the final two matches to advance to the quarterfinals. The Panthers used five forfeits to defeat EGF 57-18 during the regular season.

Tanner Lewis' first-period pin at 106 pounds and Nolan Booge's first-period pin at 120 gave the Panthers an early 12-6 lead.

The Green Wave won the next three matches to build a 23-12 advantage before Ben Baumgartner's first-period pin at 145 and Justin Dravis' first-period pin at 152 gave Park Rapids a 24-23 edge.

Two pins put EGF in front 35-24 before John Kyllonen's first-period pin at 182 and Nathan Beck's forfeit win at 195 gave the Panthers a 36-35 advantage.

EGF sealed the win with two pins to advance to the quarterfinals. The Panthers ended the season with an 11-12 record in dual meets.

In Saturday's other first-round matches, No. 9 Roseau defeated No. 8 Fosston/Bagley 38-35, No. 5 Crookston eliminated No. 12 United Clay Becker 42-15 and No. 6 Fergus Falls ousted No. 11 Staples-Motley 48-26.

In the quarterfinals, No. 1 Perham routed Roseau 65-6, No. 4 Thief River Falls eliminated Crookston 48-23, No. 3 Detroit Lakes edged Fergus Falls 34-31 and No. 2 Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 69-9.

Perham edged Thief River Falls 34-28 and Detroit Lakes defeated PLPRB 33-22 to advance to the finals. Perham claimed the section title with a 36-26 victory over Detroit Lakes to repeat as section champs and qualify for state. The Yellowjackets will carry a 22-6 record and the No. 10 ranking in the latest state Class AA poll to state.

EGF 47, Park Rapids 36

106: Tanner Lewis, PR, pinned Zach Ziegler :43. 113: Matthew Vanyo, EGF, won by forfeit. 120: Nolan Booge, PR, pinned Javier LaMora 1:15. 126: Eddie Bushwa, EGF, pinned Logan Johnson 5:59. 132: Stanley Peltier, EGF, pinned Zach Nelson 1:16. 138: Alex Yanish, EGF, technical fall over Randall Scott 15-0. 145: Ben Baumgartner, PR, pinned Alex Vanyo 1:14. 152: Justin Dravis, PR, pinned Clarke Peterson :40. 160: Zach Greenwood, EGF, pinned Zachary Hocking :16. 170: Eli Deziel, EGF, pinned Jeff Dickinson 1:25. 182: John Kyllonen, PR, pinned Matt O'Leary 1:12. 195: Nathan Beck, PR, won by forfeit. 220: Brandon Thompson, EGF, pinned Logan Veo :12. 285: Evan Deziel, EGF, pinned Chris Baxter 3:25.