Weather Forecast


Warriors pin Cardinals, Wolves

Six forfeits and three pins sparked the United North Central wrestling team to a 65-6 win over Staples-Motley Tuesday night.

Austin Bacon at 113 pounds, Wyatt Puttonen at 160 and Dylan Huttonen at 170 recorded pins to lead the Warriors. Winning decisions were Toby Hintzman at 106 (2-0), Mike Johnson at 152 (9-1) and Tristan Palmer at 182 (6-0).

Receiving forfeits were Jake Malone at 126, Logan Walz at 132, Max Pajari at 138, Tanner Bacon at 195, Taylor Carlson at 220 and Landon Oshie at heavyweight.

The win gave UNC a 6-2 record in dual meets.

UNC 64, Staples-Motley 6

106: Toby Hintzman, UNC, minor decision over Eric Lisson 2-0. 113: Austin Bacon, UNC, pinned Blake Gerard 2:58. 120: Jake Swensrud, SM, minor decision over Cade LaCoe 6-2. 126: Jake Malone, UNC, won by forfeit. 132: Logan Walz, UNC, won by forfeit. 138: Max Pajari, UNC, won by forfeit. 145: Josh Becker, SM, minor decision over Sam Tellers 3-0. 152: Mike Johnson, UNC, major decision over Tyler Pogreba 9-1. 160: Wyatt Puttonen, UNC, pinned Josh Robben 4:52. 170: Dylan Huttonen, UNC, pinned Nick Jennings :31. 182: Tristan Palmer, UNC, minor decision over Drew Peterson 6-0. 195: Tanner Bacon, UNC, won by forfeit. 220: Taylor Carlson, UNC, won by forfeit. 285: Landon Oshie, UNC, won by forfeit.

Pajari earns honor at tournament

Pajari was named the Outstanding Wrestler as the Warriors finished fourth at last Saturday's Perham Invitational.

Pajari won the title at 138, Malone won the title at 126 and Carlson won the title at 220 to lead the Warriors, who compiled 176.50 points. Moorhead led the nine-team field with 209.50 points.

Also placing for the Warriors were Hintzman at 106 (third), Austin Bacon at 113 (sixth), Cade LaCoe at 120 (sixth), Sam Tellers at 145 (third), Johnson at 152 (second), Puttonen at 160 (fifth), Huttonen at 170 (third), Palmer at 182 (fifth), Tanner Bacon at 195 (fourth) and Oshie at heavyweight (sixth).

Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis finished eighth with 54 points. Collin Huckbody won the title at 182 while Christopher Zimmer took second at 195. Dustin McGee (fifth at 113) and Dakota Zimmer (sixth at 160) also placed for the Wolves.

Pins help Warriors rout Wolves

The Warriors used eight pins to rout Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis 67-9 last Thursday night at Menahga.

Hintzman at 106, Austin Bacon at 113, LaCoe at 120, Walz at 132, Pajari at 145, Johnson at 160, Huttonen at 170 and Tanner Bacon at 195 recorded pins while Puttonen (11-0 at 152) and Oshie (5-1 at heavyweight) won by decision. Adding forfeit wins were Malone at 126 and Tellers at 138.

Huckbody's pin at 182 and Christopher Zimmer's 3-2 minor decision at 220 accounted for the Wolves' points.

UNC 67, WHAN 9

106: Toby Hintzman, UNC, pinned Dillon McGee :25. 113: Austin Bacon, UNC, pinned Dustin McGee 1:55. 120: Cade LaCoe, UNC, pinned Tristan Hopen :41. 126: Jake Malone, UNC, won by forfeit. 132: Logan Walz, UNC, pinned Ryley Rettke :31. 138: Sam Tellers, UNC, won by forfeit. 145: Max Pajari, UNC, pinned Jeremy Miller 1:36. 152: Wyatt Puttonen, UNC, major decision over Truman Crandall 11-0. 160: Mike Johnson, UNC, pinned Dakota Zimmer :48. 170: Dylan Huttonen, UNC, pinned Landon Godwin 1:48. 182: Collin Huckbody, WHAN, pinned Tristan Palmer :41. 195: Tanner Bacon, UNC, pinned Brandon Pfarr 2:34. 220: Christopher Zimmer, WHAN, minor decision over Taylor Carlson 3-2. 285: Landon Oshie, UNC, minor decision over Skyler Huckbody 5-1.