Weather Forecast


Wrestlers split with Road Crew, Cardinals

Three pins down the stretch helped the Park Rapids wrestling team rally for a 48-34 win over Staples-Motley in a triangular meet at Staples Thursday night.

Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus used five pins and four forfeits to defeat the Panthers 61-9 in the other match.

Pins by Jared Sunram at 113 pounds, Nolan Booge at 120, Ben Baumgartner at 138 and Justin Dravis at 145 gave the Panthers a 24-18 advantage. Staples-Motley won the next three matches to claim a 34-24 lead before pins by Jeff Dickinson at 182 and John Kyllonen at 195, a forfeit win by Trai Schmidt at 220 and a pin by Chris Baxter at heavyweight rallied the Panthers.

Against the Road Crew, Baumgartner's 10-5 minor decision at 138, Kyllonen's 9-4 minor decision at 182 and Schmidt's 5-3 overtime decision at 220 accounted for the Panthers' three wins. The split left Park Rapids with a 2-7 record in dual meets.

Park Rapids 48, Staples-Motley 34

106: Eric Lisson, SM, pinned Tanner Lewis 3:04. 113: Jared Sunram, PR, pinned Blake Gerard 4:51. 120: Nolan Booge, PR, pinned Jake Bendson 1:11. 126: Jake Swendsrud, SM, won by forfeit. 132: Blake Miller, SM, pinned Logan Johnson :36. 138: Ben Baumgartner, PR, pinned Kendall Yungbauer, :43. 145: Justin Dravis, PR, pinned Josh Becker 2:45. 252: Tyler Pogreba, SM, major decision over Austin Parker 13-0. 160: Josh Robben, SM, pinned Zach Hocking :25. 270: Jordan Heldman, SM, pinned Luke Weaver 1:45. 182: Jeff Dickinson, PR, pinned Drew Peterson 4:33. 195: John Kyllonen, PR, pinned Mike Beach 1:16. 220: Trai Schmidt, PR, won by forfeit. 285: Chris Baxter, PR, pinned Warren Japke 1:33.

PLPRB 61, Park Rapids 9

106: Anthon Philipson, PLPRB, pinned Tanner Lewis :53. 113: Spencer Richards, PLPRB, minor decision over Jared Sunram 4-2. 120: Nate Adkins, PLPRB, major decision over Nolan Booge 10-1. 126: Brandon Mager, PLPRB, won by forfeit. 132: Tristan Poloner, PLPRB, won by forfeit. 138: Ben Baumgartner, PR, minor decision over Jace Loge 10-5. 145: Drey Loge, PLPRB, pinned Justin Dravis 1:57. 152: Dillon Nichols, PLPRB, won by forfeit. 160: Ozzie Miller, PLPRB, pinned Luke Weaver 4:59. 170: Kyle Jordan, PLPRB, won by forfeit. 182: John Kyllonen, PR, minor decision over Justin Mackenthun 9-4. 195: Cade Roeder, PLPRB, pinned Chris Shaw 1:47. 220: Trai Schmidt, PR, minor decision over Kurt Kent 5-3 (ot). 285: Jared Adkins, PLPRB, pinned Chris Baxter 3:26.