Weather Forecast


Three Tigers earn state 9-man honors

Collin Huckbody, Robbie Hine and Jake Keranen were a big reason the Nevis football team won the Section 5 9-man title to qualify for the state playoffs for the first time since 1993.

All three Nevis seniors were recognized for their efforts by being named to the all-state 9-man team.

Huckbody was named an all-state quarterback after leading the Tigers by rushing 200 times for 1,616 yards and 22 touchdowns for 134 points. Huckbody also completed 105 of 189 passes for 2,234 yards and 23 TDs and had 59 solo tackles and 28 assists on defense.

Hine, an all-state defensive back, was second on the team in rushing with 76 carries for 652 yards and 11 TDs and caught 17 passes for 295 yards and six TDs for 110 points. On defense, Hine led the Tigers with 67 solo tackles and 25 assists and returned an interception for another score.

Keranen solidified an offensive line that averaged 473 yards and 40 points a game and tallied 43 solo tackles on defense to earn all-state honorable mention honors.

Those three players also received Great Northern Conference honors in leading Nevis to the conference title with an 8-0 record. Huckbody was named the conference's Most Valuable Offensive Back while Keranen was named the conference's Most Valuable Offensive Lineman.

Also receiving all-conference honors were seniors Taylor Chase, Gerald Beckerleg and Aaron Halik. Senior Jordan Dudley and sophomores Austin Becker and Courtland Chase received all-conference honorable mention honors.

Taylor Chase was the Tigers' leading receiver with 36 receptions for 788 yards and 10 TDs for 64 points. Chase also led the team with three interceptions and had 34 solo tackles.

Beckerleg finished second in receptions with 24 for 668 yards and six TDs for 36 points. Defensively, Beckerleg had 49 solo tackles, 15 assisted tackles and two interceptions.

Halik helped solidify the offensive line and had 11 solo tackles, 17 assists and three quarterback sacks defensively.

Dudley was the Tigers' other leader on the offensive and defensive lines and tallied 28 solo tackles and one sack.

Becker rushed 34 times for 304 yards and five TDs for 30 points and had 32 solo tackles and an interception on defense.

Courtland Chase caught six passes for 132 yards and a TD and compiled 35 solo tackles and a team-leading six sacks.

Receiving top team awards for the Tigers, who ended the season with an 11-1 record, were Huckbody (Most Valuable Player), Keranen (Offensive and Defensive Lineman of the Year), Hine (Offensive and Defensive Back of the Year), junior Michael Babler (Special Teams Player of the Year), freshman Kiefer Miller (Freshman of the Year) and senior Kyle Bannor (Coaches Award).