Weather Forecast


UNC claims team crown at Crookston

Max Pajari and Dylan Huttunen won individual titles in leading United North Central to the team title at Saturday's Rodd Olson Invitational at Crookston.

Tristan Palmer and Tanner Bacon also advanced to title matches as the Warriors topped the 10-team field with 185.50 points. Crookston was second with 169 points, followed by Roseau (146), Mahnomen/Waubun (125.50), Hillsboro (109.50), United Clay Becker (104), Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis (98), East Grand Forks (92), Red Lake County Central (74) and West Marshall (37).

Pajari pinned MW's Kody Lefebvre in 38 seconds and UCB's Mason Swegarden in 3:30 to claim the title at 145 pounds while Huttunen pinned MW's Jake Warms in 1:42, defeated EGF's Eli Diezel 5-3 and pinned Roseau's Trevor Pederson in 3:45 to win the title at 170.

Palmer advanced to the title match at 182 by pinning EGF's Matt O'Leary in 1:06 and MW's Kal Handyside in 5:07 before dropping a 7-0 minor decision to WHAN's Collin Huckbody in the final. Huckbody pinned RLCC's James Hanson in 1:13 and UCB's Alex Lindsay in 1:55 to advance to the title match.

Bacon pinned Hillsboro's Brady Siebels in 4:07 before being pinned by UCB's Mat Pepper in 49 seconds in the title match.

Sam Tellers pinned EGF's Javi LaMora in 4:20 to finish third at 120, Wyatt Puttonen pinned WHAN's Truman Crandall in 2:10 for third place at 152 and Taylor Carlson edged West Marshall's Colton Laymon 2-1 in the third-place match at 195.

Falling in third-place matches for UNC were Logan Walz at 132 and Mike Johnson at 160. Toby Hintzman finished fifth at 106 and Austin Bacon took fifth at 113 for the Warriors.

WHAN's Christopher Zimmer posted a 9-3 minor decision over Crookston's Josh Edlund to win the title at 195 while Skyler Huckbody defeated RLCC's Blake DeHate 4-2 to finish third at heavyweight.

Also placing for the Wolves were Truman Crandall (fourth at 152), AJ Pappas (fifth at 138), Nick Fisher (fifth at 220), Tristan Hopen (sixth at 120), Keevin White (sixth at 126) and Jeremy Miller (sixth at 145).