Weather Forecast


WHAN, UNC combine to send eight wrestlers to state meet

United North Central and Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis combined to send eight wrestlers to the state Class A tournament.

Jacob Malone won the title at 126 pounds to lead UNC at Saturday's Section 8A meet at Glyndon. Max Pajari won a true-second match at 160 while Taylor Carlson prevailed in a true-second match at 220 as the Warriors qualified three for state.

WHAN qualified five wrestlers, led by Joe Anderson's championship at 160, Collin Huckbody's championship at 170 and Christopher Zimmer's championship at 195. Blake Wiemann won a true-second match at 145 and Devin Wicks finished second at 152.

The state Class A tournament begins Friday at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Championship matches

106: Byron Beyer, Frazee, minor decision over Mitchell Lundeen, Fertile-Beltrami, 5-1. True second: Lundeen minor decision over Wyatt Becker, Badger/Greenbush/Middle River, 10-6.

113: Devin Dostal, Badger/Greenbush/Middle River, minor decision over Austin Skillings, Frazee, 7-5. True second: Skillings major decision over Tommy Tellers, United North Central, 14-1.

120: Isaac Novacek, Badger/Greenbush/Middle River, pinned Kole Lefebvre, Mahnomen/Waubun, 4:20. True second: Lefebvre minor decision over Grant Jepson, Frazee, 10-4.

126: Jacob Malone, United North Central, minor decision over Brandon Waage, Badger/Greenbush/Middle River, 3-1.

132: Cory Hasbrouck, Badger/Greenbush/Middle River, minor decision over Jacob Magnell, Red Lake County Central, 8-2. True second: Hunter Sorenson, Frazee, major decision over Magnell 13-5.

138: Bruce Lemon, Frazee, major decision over Ryan Hamernik, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, 13-0. True second: Bruce Ortloff, Deer River, major decision over Hamernik 13-2.

145: Garret Hoffner, Mahnomen/Waubun, major decision over Blake Wiemann, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis, 12-0. True second: Wiemann minor decision over Cole Sogge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, 7-5 (ot).

152: Rij Koehnen, Frazee, minor decision over Devin Wicks, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis, 1-0.

160: Joe Anderson, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis, minor decision over Max Pajari, United North Central, 6-4. True second: Pajari minor decision over Tomm Ingle, Badger/Greenbush/Middle River, 5-3 (ot).

170: Collin Huckbody, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis, minor decision over Tejay Wojchowski, Badger/Greenbush/Middle River, 10-8.

182: Timm Ingle, Badger/Greenbush/Middle River, pinned Kole Nygaard, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, 2:24.

195: Christopher Zimmer, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis, minor decision over Craig Brodeur, Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena, 13-7.

220: Rick Brandt, Frazee, minor decision over Taylor Carlson, United North Central, 5-3. True second: Carlson pinned Lucas Solie, Fertile-Beltrami, 5:41.

285: Alex Yeager, Badger/Greenbush/Middle River, pinned Alex Goodwin, Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena, :44.