Weather Forecast


Three pins, four forfeits lead Panthers past Pirates

Park Rapids' Jared Sunram pinned Crookston's Hunter Baranski to open Tuesday night's match.1 / 2
Nolan Booge put the finishing touches on a first-period pin of Crookston's Preston Desrosier during their 113-pound match Tuesday night.2 / 2

Four forfeits in the final five matches rallied the Park Rapids wrestling team to a 45-35 Section 8AA victory over Crookston Tuesday night at the Century School gym.

Jared Sunram and Nolan Booge opened the match with first-period pins as the Panthers claimed a quick 12-0 advantage.

Ben Baumgartner's 10-8 minor decision over Cody Weiland at 126 pounds gave Park Rapids a 15-6 lead. Baumgartner used a first-period takedown and three takedowns in the second period to build an 8-4 advantage. After a nearfall by Weiland - who entered the match rated No. 10 in the latest state Class AA poll - made it 8-7, Baumgartner sealed the win with a reversal.

After the Pirates followed with three straight pins (including one by Wyatt Hanson, who is rated No. 10 at 145 pounds) to claim a 24-15 advantage, Zachary Steffen's third-period pin at 152 pulled the Panthers to within 24-21. Steffen led 12-1 before recording his pin at the 5:47 mark.

A pin at 160 gave Crookston a 30-21 edge before forfeit wins by Robert Borger at 170, John Kyllonen at 182, Brandon Ritter at 220 and Trai Schmidt at heavyweight lifted the Panthers' overall record in dual meets to 9-7. Crookston fell to 2-5.

Park Rapids 45, Crookston 35

106: Jared Sunram, PR, pinned Hunter Baranski 1:32. 113: Nolan Booge, PR, pinned Preston Desrosier 1:02. 120: Kyle Caputo, C, pinned Anthony Ritter 2:57. 126: Ben Baumgartner, PR, minor decision over Cody Weiland 10-8. 132: Nate Merten, C, pinned Noah Schulz 3:06. 138: Zane Baranski, C, pinned Justin Dravis 2:12. 145: Wyatt Hanson, C, pinned Brock Fritze 1:17. 162: Zachary Steffen, PR, pinned Luke Edlund 5:47. 160: Blake Bergeron, C, pinned Garrick Scudder 1:53. 170: Robert Borger, PR, won by forfeit. 182: John Kyllonen, PR, won by forfeit. 195: Josh Edlund, C, technical fall over Cole Tretbar 20-5. 220: Brandon Ritter, PR, won by forfeit. 285: Trai Schmidt, PR, won by forfeit.

Baumgartner, Ritter wins titles

Baumgartner and Ritter won titles in leading the Panthers to third place at last Saturday's Parkers Prairie tournament.

Baumgartner used a pair of pins and an 11-5 minor decision to claim the title at 126 pounds while Ritter pinned his way to the title at 220.

Justin Dravis (at 138) and Forrest Drury (at 170) claimed runner-up honors while Steffen (at 152), Garrick Scudder (at 160) and Cole Tretbar (at 195) finished fourth.

Placing fifth were Sunram at 106, Noah Schulz at 132 and Borger at 170.

Breckenridge won the team title with 174 points while Long Prairie-Grey Eagle followed with 167 points. The Panthers finished third with 147 points in this 10-team tournament.

Team scores: Breckenridge/Campbell-Tintah 174, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 167, Park Rapids 147, Benson 142.50, Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale 125.50, Parkers Prairie 125.50, Ottertail Central 124, Crosby-Ironton 87.50, Pelican Rapids 77, Ortonville 24.

Park Rapids results

Jared Sunram (106): pinned Tristan Eastman, O, 3:35; pinned by Justin Gordon, BHV, 1:00; lost minor decision to Nicholas Middendorf, LPGE, 2-0; won major decision over Tom Leeseberg, PP, 14-3 (5th).

Anthony Ritter (120): pinned by Jesus Romero, Pelican, 2:12; pinned by Dylan Schwartz, OTC, :36.

Ben Baumgartner (126): pinned Jorge Botello, LPGE, :17; pinned Carlos Guiterrez, Pelican, :29; won minor decision over Zach Johnson, OTC, 11-5 (1st).

Noah Schulz (132): pinned by Morgan Slaton, B, 2:45; pinned Remington Meagher, LPGE, :44; pinned by Kyle Schlosser, PP, 2:27; pinned Colby Gimmestad, O, 3:44 (5th).

Justin Dravis (138): pinned Mitch Koosmann, B, 5:45; won minor decision over Ray Elizondo, Pelican, 17-12; pinned by Jesse Differding, BCT, 5:57 (2nd).

Brock Fritze (145): pinned by Rene Eldidy, LPGE, 4:42; pinned by Travis Benson, B, 1:32.

Zachary Steffen (152): pinned Travis Westlund, O, :11; lost minor decision to Nick Bennett, BHV, 7-5; won major decision over Austin Montgomery, OTC, 14-2; lost minor decision to Cody Hammerschmidt, B, 4-3 (4th).

Garrick Scudder (160): pinned Matt Wieber, B, :39; pinned by Michael Whitney, BCT, 3;07; pinned Colton Moyer, BHV, 1:28; pinned by Isaac Cloos, O, 1:55 (4th).

Forrest Drury (170): bye; won minor decision over Sam Carruth, B, 9-3; pinned by Stephen Erlandson, BCT, 3:09 (2nd).

Robert Borger (170): lost minor decision to Ben Barragan, Pelican, 7-2; lost minor decision to Sam Carruth, B, 6-2; won minor decision over Soshiro Tachibana, OTC, 6-2 (5th).

Cole Tretbar (195): pinned Aaron Bengston, OTC, 1:20; lost technical fall to Tyler Schlosser, PP, 16-1; pinned Cody Buenaventura, B, 2:48; pinned by Andrew Bounds, BHV, 1:29 (4th).

Brandon Ritter (220): pinned Ben Cole, OTC, :08; pinned Tony Peterson, LPGE, 2:27; pinned Logan Nibbe, PP, 1:03. (1st).

Chris Baxter (285): pinned by Colin Turchin, BHV, :25; pinned by Charles Johnson, OTC, 1:35.