Weather Forecast


Baumgartner, Drury lead Panthers at Big Bear

Ben Baumgarnter's runner-up finish led the Park Rapids wrestling team at the Big Bear Tournament at Cass Lake Friday and Saturday.

Baumgartner used a pair of pins and a pair of minor decisions to reach the championship match at 120 pounds before losing to Badger-Greenbush-Middle River's Isaac Novacek 5-3.

Forrest Drury finished fifth at 170 pounds and Zach Steffen placed eighth at 152 pounds in helping the Panthers compile 61.50 points for 23rd place in this 32-team tournament.

BGMR captured the team title with 204.50 points while Thief River Falls (152) and Staples-Motley (138.50) followed.

Christopher Zimmer claimed the title at 195 pounds as Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis finished eighth with 125 points. Also placing for WHAN were Collin Huckbody (second at 170), Joe Anderson (third at 160), Devin Wicks (fourth at 152), Blake Wiemann (sixth at 145) and Skyler Huckbody (seventh at heavyweight).

United North Central tied for 19th place with 75 points as Jake Malone (fourth at 126), Taylor Carlson (sixth at 195), Tommy Tellers (seventh at 113) and Max Pajari (seventh at 138) placed.

Team scores: Badger-Greenbush-Middle River 204.50, Thief River Falls 152, Staples-Motley 138.50, Willmar 136.50, Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 135.50, Hutchinson 133.50, Aitkin 125.50, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis 125, Crookston 109.50, Detroit Lakes 109, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 104, Fergus Falls 98, Barnesville 94, Morris 88.50, United Clay Becker 83, Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena 78, Mahnomen/Waubun 77, Big Lake 77, United North Central 75, New York Mills 75, Fosston/Bagley 73, Roseau 67, Park Rapids 61.50, Wadena-Deer Creek 52, Hibbing 47, West Central 43, Nashwauk-Keewatin 41, Robbinsdale Cooper 40, Crosby-Ironton 24.50, Deer River 13, Red Lake County Central 11, West Marshall 11.

Championship matches

103: Gabe Foltz, DL, pinned Anthony Philipson, PLPRB, 3:04. 113: Shane Novak, NYM, minor decision over Abbot Aho, FF, 3-2 (ot). 120: Isaac Novacek, BGMR, minor decision over Ben Baumgartner, PR, 5-3. 126: Brandon Waage, BGMR, major decision over Cody Weiland, Crx, 10-2. 132: Eric Madson, Hutch, minor decision over Alex Johannes, Wil, 8-3. 138: Parker Jackson, DL, minor decision over Ryan Hamernik, DGF, 4-2. 145: Garrett Hoffner, MW, minor decision over Matt Laugen, FF, 10-8. 152: Jordan Chouanard, Ait, minor decision over Tim Ostby, MW, 4-1. 160: Peter Harrison, PLPRB, major decision over Blake Bergeron, Crx, 10-0. 170: Tejay Wojchowski, BGMR, minor decision over Collin Huckbody, WHAN, 4-3. 182: Blake Petrich, SM, pinned Craig Williams, TRF, 1:17. 195: Christopher Zimmer, WHAN, pinned Josh Edlund, Crx, 3:55. 220: Mat Pepper, UCB, minor decision over David DeYonge, SM, 7-3. 285: Alex Yeager, BGMR, pinned Zach Gibson, MW, 3:42.

Park Rapids results

Nolan Booge (106): pinned by Stephen Holececk, TRF, 1:43; pinned by Brett Jerome, Ros, 4:22.

Ben Baumgartner (120): pinned Mike Livdahl, UCB, 1:07; pinned Travis Ilar, RC, 1:52; won minor decision over Aaron Trunt, NK, 7-4; won minor decision over Noah Bernier, TRF, 3-0; lost minor decision to Isaac Novacek, BGMR, 5-3 (2nd).

Noah Schulz (138): lost major decision to Cooper Jedlicka, BCLB, 12-3; pinned by Tyler Pogreba, SM, 4:52.

Zack Tretbar (145): pinned by Levi Ballak, Hib, 1:55; pinned by Cole Knaeble, BL, :47.

Zach Steffen (152): pinned Jesus Garcia, DGF, 4:41; won major decision over Jarrett Nosal, DL, 12-2; lost minor decision to Wyatt Wixo, UCA, 6-4; won minor decision over Mitch Bonderson, NK, 5-2; lost minor decision to Jonathon Hoffner, MW, 12-7; lost major decision to Kyle Martineau, WCA, 8-0 (8th).

Garrett Scudder (160): won minor decision over Dallas Lanoue, MW, 17-15; pinned by Gregor Fraser, Hutch, 2:20; pinned by Butch Strand, BCLB, 4:23.

Forrest Drury (170): won by technical fall over Tristan Palmer, UNC, 4:14; pinned Zach Gustafson, Hib, :54; won minor decision over Justin Polejewski, FF, 7-2; lost major decision to Tejay Wojchowski, BGMR, 10-0; lost minor decision to Brent Lisson, SM, 8-4; won by injury default over Polejewski (5th).

John Kyllonen (182): lost major decision to Justin Mackenthun, PLPRB, 14-1; pinned by John Westman, BGMR, 5:36.

Kyle Ritter (195): pinned by Craig Brouder, BLCB, :34; lost major decision to Colton Laymon, WM, 13-3.

Cole Tretbar (220): pinned Kieran Oksanen, Ros, 1;06; pinned by Tony Reurink, WDC, 3:42; pinned Roy Wigton, Ait, :19; pinned Jaden Erkkile, NK, 1:18; pinned by Alex Goodwin, BCLB, 4:38.