Weather Forecast


Pins, forfeits lead Panthers to 42-36 win over New York Mills

Forfeits in the first and final matches helped the Park Rapids wrestling team defeat New York Mills 42-36 Tuesday night at New York Mills.

Nolan Booge opened the match with a forfeit win at 106 pounds and Jared Sunram used a third-period takedown for a 3-2 minor decision at 113 as the Panthers jumped out to a 9-0 lead.

After Ben Baumgartner's pin at 126 gave Park Rapids a 15-6 advantage, New York Mills posted back-to-back-to-back pins to claim a 24-15 lead.

Four straight wins put the Panthers back in the lead.

Zachary Steffen's pin at 152, Garrick Scudder's 19-7 major decision at 160, Forrest Drury's 17-1 technical fall at 170 and John Kyllonen's pin at 182 gave Park Rapids a 36-24 advantage.

Steffen led 9-2 before his pin in the second period. Scudder used two takedowns and nearfall in the first period, a takedown and nearfall in the second period, and a takedown, nearfall and reversal in the third period to spark his win. Drury coasted to his win with two takedowns and a nearfall in the first period, a reversal and nearfall in the second period, and a takedown and nearfall in the third period. Kyllonen held a 5-0 lead after the first period before posting his pin.

New York Mills won the next two matches with pins, but Trai Schmidt's forfeit win at heavyweight gave the Panthers the win.

Park Rapids improved to 4-3 in dual meets while New York Mills fell to 0-3.

Park Rapids 42, New York Mills 36

106: Nolan Booge, PR, won by forfeit. 113: Jared Sunram, PR, minor decision over Taylor Thompson 3-2. 120: Shane Novak, NYM, pinned Logan Johnson :54. 126: Ben Baumgartner, PR, pinned Tyler Ehnert 4:30. 132: Andrew Perala, NYM, pinned Laine Jensen :28. 138: Taylor Eriksrud, NYM, pinned Noah Schulz 5:38. 145: Mason Roberts, NYM, pinned Brock Fritze 1:01. 152: Zachary Steffen, PR, pinned Gunner Flynn 3:27. 160: Garrick Scudder, PR, major decision over Brian Pyle 19-7. 170: Forrest Drury, PR, 17-1 technical fall over Michael Meyer 5:08. 182: John Kyllonen, PR, pinned Cole Grabow 2:20. 195: Tyler Patron, NYM, pinned Kyle Ritter 1:04. 220: Max Carlson, NYM, pinned Rylee Smith :36. 285: Trai Schmidt, PR, won by forfeit.