Weather Forecast


Renner finishes fourth at section tennis meet

Park Rapids' Alex Renner's bid to qualify for the state Class A boys tennis tournament was denied Thursday at the Depot Courts.

Renner, the No. 3 seed in the Section 8A singles bracket, opened with a 6-0, 6-0 win over No. 14 Dillon Shields of Perham last Tuesday and a 6-2, 6-4 win over No. 6 Ross Forney of Crookston in Thursday's quarterfinals.

In the semifinals, Renner dropped a 7-5, 6-1 decision to No. 2 Logan Engelstad of Thief River Falls. No. 4 Ty Misialek of East Grand Forks defeated Renner 6-2, 7-5 in the third-place match.

Engelstad defeated No. 1 Joel Ryan of East Grand Forks 6-0, 6-1 in the title match.

Park Rapids' other three section participants lost their opening-round matches last Tuesday.

Chris Shaw, the No. 15 seed in singles, was defeated by Engelstad 6-0, 6-0. In doubles, Scott Smith and Mitch Fossen were eliminated with a 6-2, 6-0 loss to Crookston's Matt Gregg and Sean Williams while Matt Sullivan and Jeff Dickinson were defeated by Staples-Motley's Guthrie Coughlin and Tom Zoellner 6-1, 6-0. Smith and Fossen were the No. 10 seed while Sullivan and Dickinson were the No. 15 seed.

Top-rated Connor Hutton and Micah Rodahl of Thief River Falls defeated Coughlin and Zoellner, the No. 2 seed, 6-2, 6-1 in the championship match.


First round

Joel Ryan, East Grand Forks, over Drew Larson, Wadena-Deer Creek, 6-0, 6-0; Austin Korkowski, Wadena-Deer Creek, over Jordan Cresap, Perham, 6-4, 3-6, 6-4; David Szeto, Thief River Falls, over Andy Schupp, Detroit Lakes, 6-0, 6-2; Ty Misialek, East Grand Forks, over Alex Fondrick, Detroit Lakes, 6-2, 6-4; Alex Renner, Park Rapids, over Dillon Shields, Perham, 6-0, 6-0; Ross Forney, Crookston, over Grant Longbella, Staples-Motley, 6-4, 3-6, 6-3; Austin Hirschey, Staples-Motley, over Bobby Tiedemann, Crookston, 6-1, 6-0; Logan Engelstad, Thief River Falls, over Chris Shaw, Park Rapids, 6-0, 6-0.


Ryan over Korkowski 6-0, 6-0; Misialek over Szeto 6-3, 3-6, 6-1; Renner over Forney 6-2, 6-4; Engelstad over Hirschey 6-2, 6-0.


Ryan over Misialek 6-4, 7-5; Engelstad over Renner 7-5, 6-1.


Engelstad over Ryan 6-0, 6-1 (title); Misialek over Renner 6-2, 7-5 (3rd).


First round

Connor Hutton/Micah Rodahl, Thief River Falls, over James Hersch/Austin Andreen, Perham, 6-0, 6-0; Cody Genereux/Travis Vatthauer, Crookston, over Derick Brehm/Garret Duncan, Detroit Lakes, 6-2, 6-2; Josh Koop/Ben Olson, Thief River Falls, over Madison Paridon/Randy Swanson, Perham, 6-0, 6-0; Josh Solway/Shane Suess, Staples-Motley, over Zach Shaw/Ben Campos, East Grand Forks, 6-2, 6-1; Jesse Meyer/Isaac Fondrick, Detroit Lakes, over Cory Pettow/Joey Pate, Wadena-Deer Creek, 6-2, 6-2; Dennis Loeper/Mike Paavola, Wadena-Deer Creek, over Alex Havis/Eddie Eades, East Grand Forks, 6-2, 6-2; Matt Gregg/Sean Williams, Crookston, over Scott Smith/Mitch Fossen, Park Rapids, 6-2, 6-0; Guthrie Coughlin/Tom Zoellner, Staples-Motley, over Matt Sullivan/Jeff Dickinson, Park Rapids, 6-1, 6-0.


Hutton/Rodahl over Genereux/ Vatthauer 6-1, 6-2; Koop/Olson over Solway/Suess 6-3, 7-5; Meyer/Fondrick over Loeper/ Paavola 6-3, 6-3; Coughlin/Zoellner over Gregg/Williams 6-0, 6-0.


Hutton/Rodahl over Koop/Olson 6-0, 6-1; Coughlin/Zoellner over Meyer/ Fondrick 2-6, 6-4, 6-2.


Hutton/Rodahl over Coughlin/Zoellner 6-2, 6-1 (title); Meyer/Fondrick over Koop/Olson 6-4, 6-3 (3rd).