Weather Forecast


Coborn earns AP all-state honorable mention honors

Sam Coborn capped off his junior season as a member of the Park Rapids-Menahga-Walker-Hackensack-Akeley boys hockey team by earning all-state, all-section and all-conference honors.

Coborn led the Panthers with 35 goals and 29 assists for 64 points to earn a spot on the Associated Press all-state honorable mention team.

Eight other players from Section 8A also received all-state honors. Lake of the Woods goalie Alex Lyon was named to the all-state team while Thief River Falls' Micah Ranum and Matt Audette, Warroad's Nick Stoskopf and Carson Gray, East Grand Forks' Zack Lawdermilt, Crookston's Mark Bittner and Red Lake Falls' Garrett Schmitz earned all-state honorable mention honors. Detroit Lakes' Nate Baker and Alex Mason were also all-state honorable players.

In addition, Coborn was named to the Section 8A team after scoring 16 goals and adding 14 assists for 30 points in 14 games against section opponents. Park Rapids had a 5-8 record against section teams.

Joining the junior center on the all-section team were Stoskopf (forward), Ranum (forward), Lawdermilt (forward), Warroad's David Nelson (forward), Thief River Falls' Ryan Crosson (forward), Lake of the Woods' Wade Holen (forward), Crookston's Seth Heppner (forward), East Grand Forks' Cory Mack (forward); Schmitz (defenseman), Gray (defenseman), Bittner (defenseman), Audette (defenseman), East Grand Forks' Tucker Poolman (defenseman), Lake of the Woods' Isaac Bitter (defenseman), Lyon (goalie) and Warroad's Andy Foster (goalie). Mike Pepera of Lake of the Woods was named Section 8A Coach of the Year.

Coborn was also named to the Northwest Conference team after scoring 14 goals and tallying 11 assists for 25 points in nine games. The Panthers went 5-4 against Northwest Conference teams.

The other Northwest Conference players were goalies Lyon and Red Lake Falls' Cole Larson; forwards Holen, Andrew Jahnke of Red Lake Falls, Dylan Zutz of Red Lake Falls, Markas Dahl of Kittson Central and Bryan Jasper of Lake of the Woods; and defensemen Schmitz, Poolman, Bitter and Robbie Glass of Lake of the Woods. Brad Kennett of Red Lake Falls was named Coach of the Year.

The Panthers had five players receive Mid-State Conference honors after finishing third with a 4-3-1 record.

Coborn, senior forward Kyle Kanten and junior forward Levi Erickson earned all-conference honors while sophomore forward Ian Johnson and junior defenseman Benson Ringle earned all-conference honorable mention honors.

In the eight conference games, Coborn had 14 goals (including two hat tricks against Wadena-Deer Creek and a hat trick against Prairie Centre) and 12 assists (including three assists against Prairie Centre and W-DC) for 26 points. Erickson tallied six goals and seven assists for 13 points in the eight Mid-State games while Kanten had one goal and five assists in conference play. Johnson had five goals and 12 assists (including seven assists in two games against W-DC) for 17 points and Ringle had one goal and one assist.

Detroit Lakes won the conference title with a 7-1 record while Northern Lakes finished 5-2-1. Trailing the Panthers were Prairie Centre at 3-5 and Wadena-Deer Creek at 0-8.