Weather Forecast


Panthers defeat BCLB for 5th, Wolverines claim title

Park Rapids' Cole Tretbar (top) controlled Deer River's Lance Serfling during their 215-pound match Saturday.1 / 2
Park Rapids' Kevin Just pinned Deer River's Dillon Entenmann during their 171-pound match Saturday.2 / 2

Wadena-Deer Creek captured the team title while the host Panthers finished fifth at Saturday's Park Rapids Invitational wrestling tournament.

Park Rapids opened with a 38-37 loss to Deer River and followed with a 50-28 loss to Hibbing in pool matches. The Panthers defeated Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena 45-30 in the fifth-place match. The Panthers are now 3-2 in dual meets.

W-DC defeated BCLB 76-0 and Lisbon 45-33 in pool matches before defeating Hibbing 52-15 in the championship match. Hibbing defeated Deer River 41-36 in a pool match.

Lisbon, which defeated BCLB 57-18 in a pool match, defeated Deer River 40-39 in the third-place match.

Deer River edges Panthers

Deer River jumped out to a 30-16 lead, but needed a victory in the heavyweight match to pull off the win.

Ben Baumgartner's first-period pin at 112 pounds and Laine Jensen's forfeit win at 119 gave the Panthers a 12-6 lead.

Deer River won the next three matches to claim a 24-12 lead before Zach Steffen's 9-1 major decision at 140 and Zac Haugland's 6-4 overtime decision at 152 pulled the Panthers to within 30-19.

Kevin Just's second-period pin at 171, Danny Pike's first-period pin at 189 and Cole Tretbar's second-period pin at 215 gave Park Rapids a 37-35 lead.

However, a 4-2 decision by Neil Baumgarner in the heavyweight match gave Deer River the win.

Deer River 38, Park Rapids 37

103: Dylan Latvala, DR, won by forfeit. 112: Ben Baumgartner, PR, pinned Spencer Tibbetts :20. 119: Laine Jensen, PR, won by forfeit. 125: Joe Velishek, DR, won by forfeit. 130: Cody Mickle, DR, pinned Noah Schulz :49. 135: Bryce Ortloff, DR, pinned Zack Tretbar 1:02. 140: Zach Steffen, PR, major decision over Eric Ortloff 9-1. 145: Adam Claflin, DR, pinned Caleb Abraham 3:07. 152: Zac Haugland, PR, minor decision over Keith Grife 6-4 (ot). 160: Cole Serfling, DR, 15-0 technical fall over Robert Borger 3:24. 171: Kevin Just, PR, pinned Dillon Entenmann 3:52. 189: Danny Pike, PR, pinned Rick Gramke :24. 215: Cole Tretbar, PR, pinned Lance Serfling 3:45. 285: Neil Baumgarner, DR, minor decision over Brandon Ritter 4-2.

Hibbing pins way to finals

Hibbing used five pins and two forfeits to defeat the Panthers.

Baumgartner's first-period pin at 112 tied the match at 6-6 before Hibbing won eight of the next nine matches to seal the win. Steffen's first-period pin at 140 was the Panthers' only win during that stretch.

The Panthers won the final three matches as Pike posted a 10-2 major decision at 189 while Tretbar and Ritter recorded first-period pins.

Hibbing 50, Park Rapids 28

103: Tanner Novak, H, won by forfeit. 112: Ben Baumgartner, PR, pinned Jon Rupp :14. 119: Tone Fuenffinger, H, 16-0 technical fall over Laine Jensen 5:16. 125: Slade Rybachek, H, won by forfeit. 130: Mike Fuenffinger, H, pinned Noah Schulz 1:17. 135: Carver Brownlee, H, pinned Zack Tretbar 1:47. 140: Zach Steffen, PR, pinned Will Maki :27. 145: Kyle Weber, H, pinned Caleb Abraham 1:24. 152: Cody Benz, H, pinned Zac Haugland 1:49. 160: Mac Seiloff, H, pinned Robert Borger 1:47. 171: Josh Sinnot, H, minor decision over Kevin Just 12-5. 189: Danny Pike, PR, major decision over Jared Greenwood 10-2. 215: Cole Tretbar, PR, pinned Owen Philbrick 1:24. 285: Brandon Ritter, PR, pinned Jaban Weber :49.

Panthers finish in fifth place

BCLB built an 18-12 lead before the Panthers rallied to win the fifth-place match.

Baumgartner's forfeit win at 112 and Jensen's third-period pin at 119 gave Park Rapids a 12-6 lead.

BLCB took an 18-12 lead before Steffen's first-period pin at 140 and Caleb Abraham's 10-4 minor decision at 145 gave Park Rapids a 21-18 advantage.

After BCLB took a 24-21 lead, the Panthers used Just's second-period pin at 160, Robert Borger's forfeit win at 171, Pike's second-period pin at 189, Tretbar's first-period pin at 215 and Ritter's first-period pin at heavyweight to complete the comeback.

Park Rapids 45, BCLB 30

103: Andrew Nissen, BCLB, won by forfeit. 112: Ben Baumgartner, PR, won by forfeit. 119: Laine Jensen, PR, pinned Kyle Michalek 5:15. 125: Double forfeit. 130: Tanner George, BCLB, pinned Noah Schulz 2:23. 135: Devon Staples, BCLB, pinned Zack Tretbar :46. 140: Zach Steffen, PR, pinned Joseph Nehl 1:17. 145: Caleb Abraham, PR, minor decision over Jerik Pemberton 10-4. 152: Brady Gross, BCLB, pinned Zac Haugland 4:46. 160: Kevin Just, PR, pinned Butch Strand 3:34. 171: Robert Borger, PR, won by forfeit. 189: Danny Pike, PR, pinned Craig Brodeur 3:11. 215: Al Goodwin, BCLB, pinned Cole Tretbar :49. 285: Brandon Ritter, PR, pinned Nick Grundmeier 1:10.