Weather Forecast


Fergus Falls, NYM defeat Babe Ruthers at state

Close losses to Fergus Falls and New York Mills ended Park Rapids' run to win the State Intact Babe Ruth Tournament title.

Park Rapids opened the double-elimination age 13-15 state baseball tournament with a 6-4 loss to Fergus Falls Thursday and was eliminated with a 9-5 loss to New York Mills Friday at Fergus Falls.

In the opener against Fergus Falls, Park Rapids led 4-3 after two innings before Fergus Falls scored twice in the third and once in the fourth.

A single by Chris Goplerud, a walk to Drew Bade and a single by Kyle Goplerud led to two Park Rapids runs in the first before walks to John Massie and Mason Long, a single by Cody Brumbaugh, and an error gave Park Rapids a 4-3 lead in the second.

Tyler McCollum doubled and Rilee Johnson singled in the third, Bade singled in the fourth and Ian Johnson singled in the seventh to account for Park Rapids' other hits.

David Dirks started and took the loss for Park Rapids. Dirks allowed six runs on five hits over four innings. Ian Johnson pitched the final two innings, allowing one hit and striking out five.

Park Rapids also held an early lead in Friday's game before New York Mills relied on a seven-run fifth inning to rally for the win.

A double by Chris Goplerud, singles by Bade, Ian Johnson and McCollum, and a triple by Rilee Johnson gave Park Rapids a 4-0 lead in the third.

New York Mills used two errors to score two runs in the bottom of the third before a walk, four consecutive singles, another walk, an error and another single produced seven runs in the fifth.

McCollum singled and scored on Bryce Brovitch's double in the sixth to conclude the scoring.

Chris Goplerud went 3 for 4, Ian Johnson went 2 for 3 and McCollum went 2 for 3 to lead Park Rapids' offense. Ian Johnson started and took the loss, allowing nine runs on six hits with six strikeouts. Kyle Goplerud finished up, allowing one hit and striking out two in two innings.

Browerville defeated Pearl Lake 10-4 in Sunday's championship game. The other state qualifiers were Ada-Borup, Melrose, Barnesville, Ashby, Litchfield, Hawley and Fosston.