Weather Forecast


Annual All Sports Banquet to honor senior athletes

The Park Rapids Class of 2010 has 11 boys and 10 girls as candidates for the Male and Female Student Athlete and Male and Female Outstanding Athlete awards This year's candidates are (front from left) Brie Warne, Hailey Lundin, Jenny Palm, Shelby Weckwerth, Shannon Taylor, Kirsten Erickson, Victoria Lutz; (middle) Mary Kading, Paul Dirks, Caleb Atkins, Max Brown, John Drury, Kevin McMorrow; (back) Kenny Weaver, Steve Smith, Mark Bravo, AJ Spears, Tucker Coborn, Jared Nash. Not pictured: Kyja Penning and...

Another talented group of senior athletes will be honored at the 33rd annual Park Rapids All Sports Banquet next Wednesday night (May 26) at the Area High School gym.

One of the main highlights of the evening will be the naming of 2010 Male Student Athlete and Female Student Athlete and the 2010 Outstanding Female Athlete and Outstanding Male Athlete. In addition, Joe Harvala and Jason Deitchler will be inducted into the Panther Athletic Hall of Fame.

This year there are 11 boys and 10 girls who met the criteria for these awards.

Meeting the criteria for Male Student Athlete are Caleb Atkins, Tucker Coborn, Paul Dirks, Kevin McMorrow and Steve Smith.

The candidates meeting the criteria for the Female Student Athlete honor are Mary Kading, Jenny Palm, Shannon Taylor, Shelby Weckwerth and Hannah Wolff.

To be eligible for the Student Athlete award, seniors must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.50 or be a top five qualifying student; be at least a two-sport athlete in grades 10-12 or be a state participant in one sport sometime during grades 10-12; and have no confirmed rules violations during their senior year.

Vying for the Outstanding Female Athlete honor are Kirsten Erickson, Kading, Hailey Lundin, Victoria Lutz, Palm, Kyja Penning, Taylor, Brie Warne, Weckwerth and Wolff.

The candidates for the Outstanding Male Athlete are Atkins, Mark Bravo, Max Brown, Coborn, Dirks, John Drury, McMorrow, Jared Nash, Smith, AJ Spears and Kenny Weaver.

The criteria for the Outstanding Athlete award include being at least a two-sport athlete or a state participant in grades 10-12, having no confirmed rules violations as a senior and making satisfactory progress towards graduation.

Last year's winners were Kevin Vaadeland (Male Student Athlete), Mindy Lawrence (Female Student Athlete), Megan Lawrence (Outstanding Female Athlete) and Dylan Walsh (Outstanding Male Athlete).

Seating for this year's banquet will begin at 5:30 with the banquet starting at 6:15.

Following the meal, Harvala and Deitchler will be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Senior letterwinners will be recognized and the Park Rapids Memorial Scholarships and other awards will be presented. After the Parade of Champions and recognition of state participants from the 2009-2010 season, the Student Athletes and Outstanding Athletes will be announced.

There will also be entertainment by the high school music department. The Panther Video Show highlighting all 20 varsity sports will conclude the evening.