Weather Forecast


McCarty among six inductees joining Wrestling Hall of Fame

Park Rapids' Andy McCarty will be among six people being inducted into the Minnesota Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame April 17 in Owatonna.

McCarty will join Jim Beshey, Neil Ladsten, Howard Leopold, Ken Schmoker and John Sterner as 2010 Hall of Fame Lifetime Service Honorees at an honors banquet at the Owatonna Holiday Inn. Tickets are $45 per person and can be reserved at or by calling Spencer Yohe at (320) 766-1934. Tickets will also be available at the door.

McCarty started teaching and coaching at Park Rapids in 1970 and served as Panthers' head wrestling coach from 1972-1977. McCarty was named Coach of the Year in 1975 when the Panthers won their first district title. McCarty also served 25 years as a wrestling official from 1971-1996. McCarty was head official of Region 6A for several years and also officiated in Region 7 and Region 8. He was also an official at the state tournament for 10 years.

In addition to being inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, McCarty was inducted into the Minnesota Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2000, the Moorhead Dragon Hall of Fame in 2003, the Minnesota Dave Bartelma Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2008 and the Park Rapids Athletic Hall of Fame in 2008.