Weather Forecast


Panthers, Warriors eliminated in quarterfinals of Section 8A tournament

Crookston and Frazee jumped out to early leads to eliminate Park Rapids and United North Central in the quarterfinals of the Section 8A wrestling tournament Saturday at Thief River Falls.

No. 3-seeded Crookston jumped out to a 30-0 lead en route to a 42-28 win over No. 6 Park Rapids while No. 1 Frazee jumped out to a 33-0 lead en route to a 68-12 win over No. 9 United North Central. UNC opened the tournament with a 60-21 victory over No. 8 Red Lake County Central.

In the other first-round match, No. 7 Fertile-Beltrami defeated No. 10 West Marshall 55-6.

The other quarterfinals saw No. 5 Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton eliminate No. 4 Mahnomen/Waubun 39-36 and No. 2 Badger/Greenbush/Middle River oust Fertile-Beltrami 83-0.

In the semifinals, Frazee defeated D-G-F 57-9 and Crookston edged BGMR 31-25. Frazee defeated Crookston 39-19 for the section title and a trip to state. Frazee is rated No. 1 in the latest state Class A poll while BGMR is ranked No. 11 and Crookston is rated No. 14.

Crookston relied on a similar formula to defeat Park Rapids for the second time this season.

In their regular-season meeting, Crookston jumped out to a 33-6 lead en route to a 44-30 victory.

The Pirates won the first six matches on Saturday to eliminate Park Rapids and advance to the semifinals. Javier Portillo (No. 3 at 130), Mariano Portillo (No. 6 at 135), Anthony Caputo (No. 3 at 145) and Brody Davidson (No. 7 at 215) led the Pirates with wins.

Zach Steffen ended Crookston's run with a 6-0 minor decision at 140 pounds.

After falling at 145, Park Rapids won four matches in a row to close the gap to 36-25.

Forrest Drury recorded a pin at the 3:12 mark at 152, Danny Pike had a pin at the 3:42 mark at 160, Jared Nash posted a 15-4 major decision at 171 and John Drury had a pin in 43 seconds at 189. Nash used a takedown and nearfall in the first period, a takedown and two nearfalls in the second period, and an escape and takedown in the third period to win his match.

Kenny Weaver ended the match with an escape in the second period for a 1-0 minor decision at heavyweight as the Panthers ended their dual season with a 10-13 record.

United North Central used eight pins and two forfeits to eliminate RLCC in the first round. Sam Tellers at 103, Jake Malone at 119, Kieler Skaro at 125, Max Aho at 140, Dylan Huttunen at 145, Taylor Carlson at 152, Tanner Berttunen at 160 and Bryson Vasey at heavyweight had pins for the Warriors. Max Pajari at 130 and Mike Johnson at 135 received forfeit wins for UNC.

In the quarterfinal match against Frazee, Aho's pin at 140 and Vasey's pin at heavyweight accounted for the Warriors' only wins.

The Section 8A individual tournament will be held Friday and Saturday at Glyndon.

Crookston 42, Park Rapids 28

103: Cody Weiland, C, minor decision over Ben Baumgartner 10-8. 112: Nathan Merten, C, pinned Laine Jensen :58. 119: Wyatt Hanson, C, pinned Cameron Free 5:16. 125: Ben Genereux, C, major decision over Dylan Holmer 12-1. 130: Javier Portillo, C, 22-4 technical fall over Luke Hartig 6:00. 135: Mariano Portillo, C, pinned Adam Branstrom 1:21. 140: Zach Steffen, PR, minor decision over Blake Bergeron 6-0. 145: Anthony Caputo, C, pinned Kevin Just :57. 152: Forrest Drury, PR, pinned Blake Erickson 3:12. 160: Danny Pike, PR, pinned Cody Osland 3:42. 171: Jared Nash, PR, major decision over Josh Edlund 15-4. 189: John Drury, PR, pinned Justin Altepeter :43. 215: Brody Davidson, C, pinned Caleb Atkins 1:06. 285: Kenny Weaver, PR, minor decision over Nick Merten 1-0.

UNC 60, RLCC 21

103: Sam Tellers, UNC, pinned Cody Gagner :41. 112: Jacob Magnell, RLCC, minor decision over Brody Benson 2-1. 119: Jake Malone, UNC, pinned Austin Burman :29. 125: Kieler Skaro, UNC, pinned James Hanson :26. 130: Max Pajari, UNC, won by forfeit. 135: Mike Johnson, UNC, won by forfeit. 140: Max Aho, UNC, pinned Thor Roggenbuck :22. 145: Dylan Huttunen, UNC, pinned Cameron Lundeen 1:08. 152: Taylor Carlson, UNC, pinned Blake DeHate 1:07. 160: Tanner Berttunen, UNC, pinned Cody Trontvedt 1:34. 171: Travis Larson, RLCC, won by forfeit. 189: Tyler Johnson, RLCC, pinned Brennen Brockpahler 1:18. 215: Conway Hamm, RLCC, won by forfeit. 285: Bryson Vasey, UNC, pinned Tyler Tougas 3:17.

Frazee 68, UNC 12

103: Trevor Stilke, F, pinned Sam Tellers 3:23. 112: Jordan Ketter, F, pinned Brody Benson :30. 119: Tanner Ellenberg, F, minor decision over Jake Malone 5-1. 125: Bruce Lemon, F, pinned Kieler Skaro 1:03. 130: Myrel Schermerhorn, F, pinned Max Pajari 1:01. 135: Rij Koehnen, F, pinned Mike Johnson 5:03. 140: Max Aho, UNC, pinned Tyler Ziegler 5:28. 145: Casey Nunn, F, pinned Dylan Huttunen 3:54. 152: Jake Schermerhorn, F, pinned Tanner Berttunen 1:29. 160: Brandon VanWatermulen, F, technical fall over Taylor Carlson. 171: Rick Brandt, F, won by forfeit. 189: Kody Lafraniere/Sorenson, F, pinned Brennen Brockpahler 1:18. 215: Mike Moltzan, F, won by forfeit. 285: Bryson Vasey, UNC, pinned Devon Drewes 1:12.