Weather Forecast


Late rally gives NYM win over wrestlers

New York Mills won the final two matches to rally for a 39-36 victory over the Park Rapids wrestling team Tuesday night at New York Mills.

Ben Baumgartner opened the meet with a pin in 1:20 in the 103-pound match to give Park Rapids the early lead.

After a pair of pins by New York Mills' Shane Novak (who is rated No. 1 at 103 in the Class A poll) and Tommy Sealander, Dylan Holmer's 11-5 minor decision at 125 pulled the Panthers to within 12-9. Holmer used an escape and takedown in the first period, a reversal and nearfall in the second period, and a reversal and nearfall in the third period for the win.

Back-to-back pins by Adam Branstrom at 135 and Zac Haugland at 140 gave the Panthers a 21-18 advantage. A takedown, nearfall and reversal gave Branstrom a 7-0 lead and set up a pin at the 2:32 mark while Haugland recorded his pin at the 1:36 mark.

Jordan Novak, who is rated No. 3 at 140, recorded a pin at 145 as the Eagles won the next two matches to claim a 27-21 lead.

The Panthers followed with three straight wins for a 36-27 edge. Danny Pike used a first-period takedown and second-period reversal and escape for a 5-3 minor decision at 160. Jared Nash followed with a pin in 29 seconds at 171 and John Drury recorded a pin in 1:16 to give the Panthers the lead.

New York Mills rallied for the win behind Jarrod Norton's pin at 215 and a forfeit win by Landyn Saewert (who is rated No. 5 in the state) at heavyweight.

The loss dropped Park Rapids to 3-4 in dual meets while New York Mills, which is rated No. 1 in this week's state Class A poll, improved to 2-2.

Park Rapids will wrestle at Perham Tuesday night.

New York Mills 39, Park Rapids 36

103: Ben Baumgartner, PR, pinned Andrew Perala 1:20. 112: Shane Novak, NYM, pinned Mike Sandretzky 1:28. 119: Tommy Sealander, NYM, pinned Cameron Free 1:03. 125: Dylan Holmer, PR, minor decision over Josh Bernu 11-5. 130: Maison Roberts, NYM, pinned Luke Hartig 4:53. 135: Adam Branstrom, PR, pinned Michael Meyer 2:32. 140: Zac Haugland, PR, pinned Andrew Mindermann 1:36. 145: Jordan Novak, NYM, pinned Zach Steffen :55. 152: Peter Stark, NYM, minor decision over Kevin Just 3-2. 160: Danny Pike, PR, minor decision over Seth Hofland 5-3. 171: Jared Nash, PR, pinned Noah Pesola :29. 189: John Drury, PR, pinned Tyler Patron 1:16. 215: Jarrod Norton, NYM, pinned Brandon Ritter 2:33. Hwt.: Landyn Saewert, NYM, won by forfeit.