Weather Forecast


Six Panthers receive all-conference status

Center fielder Cody Schirmers was one of six Park Rapids players named to this year's Mid-State Conference baseball team. (Vance Carlson / Enterprise)

Six Park Rapids players were selected to this year's Mid-State Conference baseball team.

Senior Cody Schirmers and juniors Tucker Coborn and Kevin McMorrow received all-conference honors while seniors Justin Peterson, Kevin Vaadeland and Dylan Walsh earned all-conference honorable mention status in a vote by the conference coaches.

In the 12 conference games, Schirmers hit .465 (20 for 43) with four doubles, one home run, 10 runs, five RBI and two stolen bases as the starting center fielder.

Coborn also batted .465 (20 for 43) with one double, one triple, 14 runs, four RBI and two stolen bases and went 2-1 on the mound. When not pitching, Coborn started at second base.

McMorrow had a 1-2 record on the mound and hit .428 (15 for 35) with two triples, one home run, 10 runs and 13 RBI in 12 conference games. McMorrow played first base and left field when not pitching.

Walsh started at shortstop and hit .357 (15 for 42) with four doubles, one triple, eight runs, eight RBI and one stolen base in conference play.

Vaadeland played first base and third base and batted .297 (11 for 37) with one double, two home runs, 10 runs and 12 RBI. Vaadeland had a 1-2 record in conference games.

Peterson was the starter in right field and hit .242 (8 for 33) with two doubles, five runs and three RBI against conference opponents.

Park Rapids shared fourth place in the conference standings with a 6-6 record. Perham claimed the conference title by going 11-1 while Staples-Motley and Detroit Lakes shared second place with 8-4 marks. Pequot Lakes also went 6-6, followed by Wadena-Deer Creek at 3-9 and Crosby-Ironton at 0-12.