Weather Forecast


Clark, Dravis win titles at Big Bear

Ashton Clark and Cody Dravis captured individual titles while Dwayne Johnson placed sixth as the Park Rapids wrestling team placed sixth at the 40-team Big Bear Tournament at Cass Lake Saturday.

Clark won the title at 113 pounds, Dravis took first at 170 pounds and Johnson placed at 285 pounds as the Panthers compiled 117 points. Cambridge-Isanti claimed the team title with 182.50 points while Hutchinson (160.50), Badger-Greenbush-Middle River (135.50), Thief River Falls (128) and West Central Area (119) followed. Cambridge-Isanti is rated No. 11 in Class AAA, Hutchinson is rated No. 7 in Class AA, BGMR is rated No. 18 in Class A and West Central Area is rated No. 3 in Class A.

Clark, who is rated No. 3 at 113 pounds in the latest state Class AA poll, didn't give up a point in winning all five of his matches. The Park Rapids junior pinned Staples-Motley's Sam Jennissen in 18 seconds, Crookston's Nolan Dans in 3:31 and Cambridge-Isanti's Jacob Mujwid in 1:22 to reach the semifinals. Clark capped off the tournament with a 6-0 minor decision over West Central Area's Jordan Lohse in the semifinals and a 6-0 minor decision over Long Prairie-Grey Eagle/Browerville's Justin Crandall in the championship match. Clark contributed 30 points to the Panthers' team total during the two-day tournament.

Dravis, who is rated No. 3 at 170, took a similar route in his bracket by reaching the semifinals with an 11-1 major decision over Wadena-Deer Creek's Cody Wheeler, a pin in 2:57 over Staples-Motley's Isaac Swendsrud and a pin in 1:31 over LPGE/B's Dalton Butler. The Park Rapids junior edged Detroit Lakes' Isaiah Thompson 10-8 in the semifinals before pinning Osakis' Colton Waldvogel in 5:58 in the title match. Dravis scored 31 points during the tournament.

Johnson added 19 points to the Panthers' team total as the Park Rapids senior opened by pinning Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa's Joe Thompson in 24 seconds before being throw into the consolation bracket after being pinned by Cambridge's Will Flemister in 4:47. In the consolation bracket, Johnson pinned Barnesville's Tyler Stage in 2:08, St. Cloud Apollo's Carlos Agee in 3:36, Fosston/Bagley's Axel Munter in 3:39 and Sauk Centre's Sam Sjogren in 3:08 before dropping an 8-1 minor decision to Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton's Hunter Macziewski and a 2-1 minor decision to United North Central's Jared Seibert to finish sixth.

Contributing 9 points to the Panthers' team score by going 3-2 were Landen Burlingame at 145, Jack Hensel at 195 and Zach Hocking at 220. Joe Klein scored 4 points with a 1-2 showing at 138 while Eli Bessman (at 152) and Kian Scott (at 182) scored 3 points each with 1-2 records.

United North Central finished 23rd with 64 points as Toby Hintzman placed third at 160, Seibert placed fifth at 285 and Isaac Tellers placed sixth at 113. Hintzman is rated No. 6 at 152 in the latest state Class A poll.

Dillon McGee placed fifth at 138, Kyle Schmidt placed sixth at 195 and Austin Smith placed eighth at 182 to lead Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis to 27th place with 52 points. McGee is rated No. 5 at 138 in the state Class A poll.

Team scores: Cambridge-Isanti 182.50, Hutchinson 160.50, Badger-Greenbush-Middle River 135.50, Thief River Falls 128, West Central Area 119, Park Rapids 117, Coon Rapids 115, Detroit Lakes 112.50, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 111, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa 108.50, Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena 105.50, Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie 103.50, Deer River 102, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle/Browerville 102, Hibbing 92.50, Staples-Motley 89.50, Crookston 88, Minnewaska Area 81, New York Mills 79, Barnesville 78.50, Mora 72.50, Osakis 65, Fosston/Bagley 64, United North Central 64, Aitkin 63, Morris 55, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis 52, Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 51, Roseau 50, Andover 47.50, Sauk Centre/Melrose 43.50, Virginia 41, Crosby-Ironton 40, St. Cloud Apollo 29, Fergus Falls 23, Fertile-Beltrami 22, Wadena-Deer Creek 16, Mahnomen/Waubun 14, Nashwauk-Keewatin/Greenway 12, Spectrum 11.50.

Championship matches

106: Alex Kowalchyk, Coon Rapids, minor decision over Trevor Janssen, BCLB, 6-2. 113: Ashton Clark, Park Rapids, minor decision over Justin Crandall, LPGE/B, 6-0. 120: Canon Swanson, BBE, major decision over Jace Gerving, Deer River, 14-3. 126: Spencer Miller, Staples-Motley, minor decision over Tucker Gifferson, Hutchinson, 7-3. 132: Brock Luthens, Hutchinson, minor decision over Cade Lundeen, Thief River Falls, 2-1. 138: Owen Novacek, BGMR, minor decision over Gage Zieske, Osakis, 3-2. 145: Al Bethea, Hibbing, minor decision over Brady Tweeton, Barnesville, 5-4. 152: Jimmy Brown, Cambridge, minor decision over Cody Andersen, Hutchinson, 7-5. 160: Kaden Spindler, West Central Area, minor decision over Josh Bernier, Thief River Falls, 5-4. 170: Cody Dravis, Park Rapids, pinned Colton Waldvogel, Osakis, 5:58. 182: Holt Truax, BHVPP, pinned Christian Kurth, Hutchinson, 5:41. 195: Jake Erckenbrack, New York Mills, pinned Jake Ubert, Fosston/Bagley, 1:45. 220: Dominik Vacura, BGMR, minor decision over Connor Swanson, Thief River Falls, 6-2. 285: Craig Orlando, BHVPP, pinned Zach Evans, BGMR, 1:21.

Park Rapids results

Ashton Clark (113): pinned Sam Hennissen, Staples-Motley, :18; pinned Nolan Dans, Crookston, 3:31; pinned Jacob Mujwid, Cambridge, 1:22; won minor decision over Jordan Lohse, West Central Area, 6-0; won minor decision over Justin Crandall, LPGE/B, 6-0 (1st).

Joe Klein (138): pinned Cody Sele, Thief River Falls, 4:22; pinned by Adam Syverson, Mahnomen/Waubun, 3:35; pinned by Joe Robin, Coon Rapids, :29.

Landen Burlingame (145): pinned Jonah Sorum, Fergus Falls, :54; pinned Ashton Brandner, Apollo, 1:25; lost major decision to Owen Bjerga, Staples-Motley, 10-0; won minor decision over Dade Melby, BGMR, 6-0; lost major decision to Devin Dean, BHVPP, 13-4.

Eli Bessman (152): pinned by Luke Glasener, Sauk Centre, 1:44; pinned Blake Gerey, Mahnomen/Waubun, :24; pinned by Carter Endrizzi, Aitkin, :32.

Cody Dravis (170): won major decision over Cody Wheeler, Wadena-Deer Creek, 11-1; pinned Isaac Swendsrud, Staples-Motley, 2:57; pinned Dalton Butler, LPGE/B, 1:31; won minor decision over Isaiah Thompson, Detroit Lakes, 10-8; pinned Colton Waldvogel, Osakis, 5:58 (1st).

Kian Scott (182): lost minor decision to Conner Sharp, Spectrum, 7-4; pinned Mason Overson, Thief River Falls, 1:31; lost minor decision to Alex Jenison, Barnesville, 7-3.

Jack Hensel (195): lost minor decision to Jordan Skadsem, Detroit Lakes, 6-0; won by forfeit over Josh Schuster, Cambridge; won by forfeit over Roberto Raya, Sauk Centre; pinned Kevin Jensen, Thief River Falls, 1:40; lost minor decision to Jake Wagner, Crookston, 3-1.

Scott Hocking (220): pinned by Dominik Vacura, BGMR, 3:33; pinned Andrew Deboer, Spectrum, :36; pinned Trevor Dufault, DGF, 2:15; pinned Brock Kako, United North Central, :35; lost minor decision to Zach Neumann, Hibbing, 4-2 (overtime).

Dwayne Johnson (285): pinned Joe Thompson, BBE, :24; pinned by Will Flemister, Cambridge, 4:47; pinned Tyler Stage, Barnesville, 2:08; pinned Carlos Agee, Apollo, 3:36; pinned Axel Munter, Fosston/Bagley, 3:39; pinned Sam Sjogren, Sauk Centre, 3:08; lost minor decision to Hunter Macziewski, DGF, 8-1; lost minor decision to Jared Seibert, United North Central, 2-1 (6th).