Weather Forecast


Five run in contested Hubbard County District 3 race

     The race for the District 3 Hubbard County Commission seat got very crowded as the deadline arrived.

     Five candidates are vying to replace retiring commissioner Greg Larson, who did not file for re-election.

     They are Ed Smith, Sam Spaeth, Tom Krueger, Michelle Mahowald and Floyd Frank.

     In other filngs, former Hubbard County Solid Waste Officer Vern Massie has filed in Dist. 1 against incumbent Kathy Grell, who also has filed.

     In District 5 incumbent Cal Johannsen has filed to run again. So has Schoolcraft Township supervisor Ted VanKempen.

     County Attorney Don Dearstyne, Sheriff Cory Aukes and Judge Robert Tiffany have all filed for re-election.

     Filing closes June 3.

Sarah Smith

Sarah Smith is the outdoors editor. She covers courts, business and breaking news in addition to outdoors events.

(218) 732-3364