Weather Forecast


DFLers gather in Park Rapids to endorse candidates

From left, Roger Erickson of Baudette, Rod Skoe of Clearbrook and newcomer Dave Sobieski were endorsed last weekend by the DFL party at its convention in Park Rapids.

Roger Erickson of rural Baudette for 2A and David Sobieski of rural Perham for 2B were endorsed as state representative candidates by Democractic-Farmer-Labor Party members from Senate District 2 during its endorsing convention March 15.

Rod Skoe (DFL –Clearbrook) has held the senate seat since the redistricting of 2002.

Minnesota has 67 state senators and each Senate District has an average population of just over 79,000 determined by dividing the population of our state by 67.

The Senate District 2 DFL held its biennial endorsing convention in Park Rapids where 41 delegates were welcomed by District 2 DFL Chairman Ted Fiskevold from rural Detroit Lakes – Erie Township in Becker County.

Fiskevold was nominated and elected to chair the convention and appointed Becky Colebank from Clearbrook in Clearwater County as convention secretary, Roger Winter of rural Callaway north of Richwood in Becker County as sergeant-at-arms, and Lon Engberg also from Erie Township as parliamentarian.

The 41 delegates next elected officers for the entire Senate District 2. Skoe nominated all five of the elected officers and when there were no other nominations heard, the convention elected the following with a move for “a white card ballot” or slate that resulted in unanimous acclamation: Ted Fiskevold, chairman; Sandy Eaton (Baudette in Lake of the Woods County), vice chair; Lon Engberg, treasurer; Becky Colebank, secretary; and Monaya Lund (rural Frazee in Becker County), Outreach and Inclusion Officer.

Chairman Fiskevold and Vice Chair Eaton will serve as delegates on the State DFL Central Committee.

Mike Stillday from Redby in Beltrami County who serves as Outreach and Inclusion Officer for the Beltrami County DFL rose to nominate Rep. Roger Erickson for the HD 2A endorsement. There were no other nominations and Erickson was endorsed by unanimous acclamation.

Amy Sobieski rose to nominate her husband, Dave Sobieski, for the House District 2B endorsement. Sobieski was also endorsed by unanimous acclamation from the 26 2B delegates.