Weather Forecast


Park Rapids Class of 2013 bids farewell

Park Rapids seniors celebrate: Graduation day arrived, with poignant messages delivered by members of the Class of 2013. Marching in to “Pomp and Circumstance” are, front, from left, Cory Gartner and Jessica Anderson, middle, Cody Fransen and Grace Bateman and back, Keegan Foy and Amber Booge.

“After today, we go our separate ways,” senior class president Jake Waggoner reminded classmates as they received diplomas and hugged farewell. “We are the future,” vice president Lora Remus said. “And we have the ability to impact the world.”

Park Rapids School Board member Dennis Dodge congratulates Jessica Kurtzweg, left. After receiving diplomas, the celebration began, above.

Park Rapids seniors receiving awards and scholarships at the recent Awards Day include:

Grace Bateman ­- Student Council, $125; Music Scholarship, Choir, $150; St. Joseph’s Area Health Services, $1,000; PEO Chapter T, $1,000; Ted Haberer, $700; Army Reserve Scholarship - Athlete Award;

Samantha Boyd ­ - Student Council, $125, and Outstanding Student Council Member;

Tori Lauderbaugh - Outstanding English Award; Gayle Wallace Memorial, $500;

Sarah Schultz - Outstanding English Award; PEO Chapter FJ, $300; Martin Carter Memorial Scholarship, $500; Skeffington Family, $1,000;

Lora Remus - Outstanding English and Math Awards; Essentia Clinic, $500; Madge Libby-American Legion, $1,000;

Nathan Carlson ­- Outstanding Social and Math Awards;

Tracey Matheny - Outstanding Math Award;

Cassidy Haggard – Artist of the Year;

Dakota Walsh – Al and Ruth Monico Scholarship, $500;

Andrew Waller - Music Scholarship, Choir, $150; – Trig Star Award, 2nd place, $75; Dick Haberer, $500; Russell Koerper, $550;

Trai Schmidt - Music Scholarship, Band, $150;

Nathanael Rairdon – Trig Star Award, 3rd place, $50;

Tyler McCollum – Trig Star Award, 1st place, $200;

Jacob Waggoner – Smythe Family Scholarship, State Bank of Park Rapids, $4,000; Royale B. and Eleanor M. Arvig Memorial Scholarship, $3,000; Army Reserve Scholarship - Athlete Award;

Jacob Hays ­ - St. Joseph’s Area Health Services, $1,000;

Hannah Williams ­­- St. Joseph’s Area Health Services, $1,000;

Jeni Simpson ­- St. Joseph’s Area Health Services, $1,000; Park Rapids Lions Club, $500; Margaret Kimball Memorial Scholarship, $1,000; Russell Koerper, $550;

Michelle Farlee – Brian Korea Memorial – St. Joseph’s Area Health Services, $750; PEO Chapter FJ, $300; Osage Senior Citizens, $500; Russell Koerper, $550;

Tanner Otterness - Laurie Hohnstadt Memorial Scholarship - $500;

Keegan Foy – TruStar Federal Credit Union, $500;

Aaron Hamblin - American Legion Auxiliary, $500; American Legion Post 212, $500; Russell Koerper, $550;

Ben Kading – Sons of the American Legion, $500; Russell Koerper, $550;

Jessica Kurtzweg - American Legion Post 212, $500;

Donald Manz – Hubbard County Mounted Posse, $750;

Ian Johnson – Jody Daman Memorial, $500; Russell Koerper, $550;

Chris Gopelrud – Rodney Garden Memorial, $250;

David Dirks ­ - Osage Sportsman’s Club, $500;

Nick Schulz - Osage Sportsman’s Club, $500; NDSCS Foundation, $500;

Kaylee Hilmanowski – Park Rapids vocational scholarship, $500; NDSCS Foundation, $1,000;

Nicole Price – Park Rapids vocational scholarship, $500; Hibbing Community College, $500;

Zach Eystad – Merrill Gibbs, $500;

Tzu Liao – Foreign exchange student certificate of attendance;

Laura Eloranta – Foreign exchange student certificate of attendance;

Tetyana Tsvelikova – Foreign exchange student certificate of attendance;

Niklas Froelich ­– Foreign exchange student certificate of attendance.

Sarah Smith

Sarah Smith is the outdoors editor. She covers courts, business and breaking news in addition to outdoors events.

(218) 732-3364