Weather Forecast


Duck Stamp winners showcase local talent; two earn first-place awards

Alissa Berthiaume painted this pair of redheads.1 / 2
Gabrielle Cermak painted this common merganser.2 / 2

Winners have been announced for the 2012 Minnesota Junior Duck Stamp contest.

More than 1,170 entries were received. Park Rapids students received recognition for their artwork. Alissa Berthiaume and Gabrielle Cermak received first place recognition; Cassidy Haggard received second place; and Allison Belfiori and Lydia Schaum received honorable mention.

Park Rapids art teacher Michael Hartung also received special recognition. He received the Minnesota Teacher Recognition.

The Minnesota contest was held on March 21, 2012 and 100 winners were selected. Contest judges included Jason Evans, Minnesota State Greenwing Chair, Ducks Unlimited; Dale Eggert, Chapter Development, Minnesota Waterfowl Association; Jim Leach, Regional Refuge Operations Supervisor, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service; Judy Lieber, artist; and Laura Shimek, art teacher.

Anna Erickson
Anna Erickson is editor of the Wadena Pioneer Journal.
(218) 631-2561