Weather Forecast


Menahga School announces scholarship recipients

During the Menahga High School Commencement Program 27 scholarships totaling $10,080 were presented to 18 graduating seniors through Menahga Dollars for Scholars.

Money for the Dollars for Scholars scholarships is obtained through fundraisers the chapter holds during the year and from donations from the general public in honor or in memory of family and friends. In addition, local businesses make scholarships available to the senior class through Dollars for Scholars.

The winner of this year's Pioneer Heritage Scholarship goes to Andrew Maninga. He will receive $600.

Menahga Concrete Products awarded a $300 scholarship to a student furthering his/her education in the field of business. This year's recipient is Derek Pihlaja.

Renneberg Hardwoods awards four $250 scholarships. This year winners were: Matthew Skoog Emily Skoog, Derek Pihlaja and Jenny Johnson.

The First National Bank of Menahga and Sebeka awarded three $335 scholarships. This year's recipients were Marlin Aho, Marissa Johnson and Chelsea Pinoniemi.

VFW Post 6206 of Menahga awarded two $250 scholarships. This years winners were Donald Peterson and Tina Peterson.

Debra Koch Memorial Scholarship is awarded to two students going into either the medical or educational field. This year's winners were Marlin Aho and Michelle Richotte. Each will receive $250.

The Menahga Dollars for Scholars presented $6,175 in scholarships to 14 seniors based on their academic performance in the classroom and their involvement in extracurricular activities at school and other activities in the community.

M-821 Endowment Scholarship was awarded to Matthew Skoog, who will receive $475.

$500 scholarships were awarded to Derek Pihlaja, Andrew Maninga, Jenny Johnson, Emily Skoog, Katie Miller, Milo Lake and Kay Rossbach.

$400 scholarships were awarded to Megan Miller, Donald Peterson, Tina Peterson and Rory Allebach.

$300 scholarships were awarded to Stephanie Keranen and Brianne Tolkkinen.

Additional scholarships were awarded at commencement.

Kay Rossbach received the Suvanto Scholarship for $202.

Derek Pihlaja received $500 from the Osage Lions Club.

Drew Maninga received a scholarship from the Area Ministerial Association.

Donald Peterson and Kay Rossbach received $500 scholarships from the Lions Club.

Drew Maninga received $2,000 from the Bernick Scholarship.

Donald Peterson received $500 from TruStar Federal Credit Union.

Marlin Aho received an EMM scholarship.

Matt Skoog, Derek Pihlaja and Drew Maninga each received $1,000 from West Central Telephone Association.

St. Joseph's Area Health Services awarded $500 to Derek Pihlaja.

Innovis Health awarded Brianne Tolkkinen a $500 scholarship.

Drew Maninga received a $1,000 scholarship from Ag Country.

Derek Pihlaja received $300 from Todd Wadena Electric Cooperative.

The Friends of MCAD Scholarship went Kay Rossbach for $32,000.