Weather Forecast


Menahga graduates receive scholarships at ceremony

Students graduated from Menahga High School Friday night. The graduates blasted confetti into the air at the end of the commencement program. (Anna Erickson / Enterprise)

During the Menahga High School Commencement program Friday, 30 scholarships totaling $11,300 were presented to 26 graduating seniors through Menahga Dollars for Scholars.

Money for the Dollars for Scholars scholarships are obtained through fundraisers that the chapter holds during the year and from donations from the general public in honor or in memory of family and friends.

The winner for this year's Pioneer Heritage Scholarship was Alexander White. He will receive $600.

Menahga Concrete Products awards a $300 scholarship to a student furthering his/her education in the field of business. This year's recipient is Beth Niska.

Renneberg Hardwoods awarded $250 scholarships to four students. The winners are Paige Parks, Kendra Skoog, Leana Bruer and Bradford Yrjo.

The First National Bank of Menahga and Sebeka awarded four $250 scholarships this year to Cody Brostrom, Cassandra Carlson, Brooke Craig and Shaylah Stomberg

VFW Post 6206 of Menahga awarded two $250 scholarships. This years winners were Vanessa Burkman and Brandon Mickelson.

The $500 Jerry Juntunen Memorial Scholarship is given in memory of Jerry Duane Juntunen, who graduated from Menahga High School in 1965, owned his own excavating business and farmed in rural Menahga. This year's recipient is Lindsey Becker.

Debra Koch Memorial Scholarship is awarded to two students going into either the medical or educational field. This year's winners were Nina Johnson and Johanna Honga, each will receive $250.

The Menahga Dollars for Scholars presented $6,900 in scholarships to 15 seniors based on their academic performance in the classroom and their involvement in extracurricular activities at school and in the community.

The M-821 Endowment Scholarship was awarded to Matthew Lundgren and Shaylah Stomberg, who will receive approximately $600 each. This marks the ninth year the M-821 Endowment Scholarship has been awarded.

$500 scholarships were awarded to Alexander White, Caitlin Hillukka, Lauren Ohlgren, Kellie Isaacson, Alissa Arola, Brock Clements and Leana Bruer.

$400 scholarships were awarded to Paige Tomperi, Kendra Skoog, Alicia Makela and Kati Neisess.

$300 scholarships were awarded to Heather Tormanen and Andrew Floyd.