Weather Forecast


UPDATED: Park Rapids, Akeley mayors defeated; longtime commissioner Robinson also loses

Nancy Carroll1 / 2
Pat Mikesh2 / 2

Park Rapids mayor Nancy Carroll, Akeley Mayor Jennifer Mitchell and longtime Hubbard County Commissioner Lyle Robinson were all defeated Tuesday night in their bids for re-election.

Matt Dotta won the District 2 seat for County Commission, edging Jason Bucky Johnson 937 to 785.

In the Park Rapids mayoral race, Carroll was defeated by council member Pat Mikesh by a razor-thin margin, 837 to 826 votes.

In Akeley, Mitchell was defeated by former chief deputy Jerry Tatro, 116 to 70. Newcomer Dan Riggs won a seat on the council with Trygve Karl, ousting incumbent Terry Chalich.

Robinson lost to challenger Dan Stacey 1,027 to 981.

Nevis Mayor Paul Schroeder defeated challenger Rick Carson 146 to 52.

Park Rapids City Council member David W. Konshok was the top vote-getter in that contest with 990 votes. Rod Nordberg was second with 821 votes. Both were elected to the council.

State Rep. Dave Hancock (Dist. 2A) was defeated by DFL candidate Roger Erickson, 8,901 to 10,730. Republican Steve Green defeated DFL candidate Brita Sailer, who was seeking to regain the House seat she lost to Hancock in 2010. Those vote totals were 9,759 for Green and 9,376 for Sailer.

Dist. 2 Sen. Rod Skoe turned away a challenge from Dennis Moser. The vote totals there were 17,423 for Moser and 21,269 for Skoe. In Dist. 5, incumbent Sen. John Carlson was defeated by DFL challenger Tom Saxhaug. The vote totals were 20,415 for Saxhaug and 18,302 for Carlson. In Dist. 5A Rep. Larry Howes was defeated by DFL challenger John Persell. The vote totals were Persell with 10,454 votes and Howes with 8,054 votes.

In Nevis, voters narrowly approved a $2.445 million measure that included funds for an Early Childhood Center, portable classrooms and a boys' locker room. Voters defeated a second measure that would have enlarged the wood shop and added a hallway to the Tiger Arena at a cost of $580,000.

A record 11,616 voters cast ballots in Hubbard County. That was a 94 percent turnout.

Sarah Smith

Sarah Smith is the outdoors editor. She covers courts, business and breaking news in addition to outdoors events.

(218) 732-3364