Weather Forecast


Filings begin Tuesday for city, school board races in region

Filings for municipal and school district elections open Tuesday, July 31, closing Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Elected officials whose terms expire include:

Park Rapids Area School Board members - Sherry Safratowich, Gary Gauldin and Dave Otterness, four-year terms.

Park Rapids City Council - Mayor Nancy Carroll, two-year term, and council members David W. Konshok and Sue Tomte, four-year terms.

Nevis Council - Mayor Paul Schroeder, two-year term, and council members Heidi Schmeichel and Cammy Johnson, four-year terms.

Nevis School Board - Jeannette Dudley, Ed Becker and Sherm Anderson, four-year terms.

Akeley Council - Mayor Jennifer Mitchell, a four-year term, appointed members Trygve Karl and Terry Chalich and Troy Hegg, a four-year term.

Menahga City Council - Mayor Patrick Foss, two-year term, and council members Kim Rasmussen and Tracy Tomperi, four-year terms.

Menahga School Board members - Brad Goehrig, Curtis Hasbargen and Durwin Tomperi, four-year terms.