Weather Forecast


Parties announce caucus locations

The Hubbard County GOP caucus night will begin at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 7.

Republicans are invited to participate in a presidential straw poll. Delegates and alternates for the county convention will be chosen.

Caucus locations for townships and cities are:

n Park Rapids Century School cafetorium - Arago, Clay, Clover, Henrietta, Hubbard, Lake Emma and Straight River townships; Park Rapids P-1 and P-2, and Todd Township P-1 and P-2.

n Akeley Regional Community Center - Akeley city and township, Nevis city and township and Badoura, Crow Wing Lake, Mantrap and White Oak townships.

n Laporte School community room - Hendrickson, Lakeport, Steamboat River and Thorpe townships and Laporte.

n Farden Town Hall - Farden, Guthrie, Hart Lake, Helga and Rockwood townships.

The Farden Town Hall is located on Co. Rd. 101, between Highway 2 and CSAH 9.

n Lake Alice Town Hall - Fern, Lake Alice, Lake George, Lake Hattie and Schoolcraft townships.

Lake Alice Town Hall is located on CSAH 3, three-quarters of a mile north of Highway 71.

Hubbard County DFL

As the elections approach, it is time for all citizens to become involved with the political process, advises Norm Leistikow, Hubbard County DFL chair. "In Minnesota that first step is to attend and participate in area caucuses."  

Hubbard County DFL caucuses for the 34 precincts will be held at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 7 at six sites.

Residents should plan to attend a caucus by determining respective precincts and sites, he said.  

At the caucus residents will be able to select candidates and delegates for the county convention, to be held Sunday, March 11 at Laporte School.

 Participants will also be able to present and discuss resolutions, which may become part of the State DFL Platform for the next election.

"This is your opportunity to present your ideas and have your input count," Leistikow said.  

Precinct meeting locations for townships (precincts) and the number of delegates to be selected are:

n Park Rapids Area High School - Arago, six delegates; Clay, one; Clover, two; Henrietta, 12; Hubbard, seven; Lake Emma, 11; Park Rapids P-1, 11; Park Rapids P-2, 14; Straight River, six; Todd P-1, 10, and Todd P-2, one.

n Nevis School - Badoura Township, two; Crow Wing Lake, four; Mantrap, six; Nevis City, four; Nevis Township, nine; Thorpe, one and White Oak, five.

n Helga Community Center - Farden Township, nine; Guthrie, four; Hart Lake, four, and Helga, 13.

n Rockwood Town Hall - Fern Township, three; Lake Hattie, two, and Rockwood, four.

n Laporte School - Hendrickson, two; Lakeport, 10; Laporte, one, and Steamboat River, two.

n Lake George Town Hall - Lake Alice Township, one; Lake George Township, four; and Schoolcraft, two.