Weather Forecast


Independence Day winning parade contestants named

The Fourth of July parade in Park Rapids announced winners this week. (Abbie Grossman / Enterprise Intern)

The 2011 Park Rapids Fourth of July parade winners have been announced.

Best Themed: Flying W Gardens.

Best in Show: Downtown Business Association Precision Marching Group.

Best Animal: Rockin' S Ranch.

Best Muscle Car: Zorbaz - Dodge Challenger RT with a 5.7 liter Hemi.

Most Humorous: Coborn's Grocery & Meats.

Best Classic/Antique Car: Northern Knights Car Club.

Most Patriotic: Lamb Weston RDO Frozen.

Best Children's: Park Rapids Tae Kwon Do.

Grand Marshals Award: SSGT Fred Higgins USMC.

Special thanks goes out to the participants and sponsors in this year's parade.

Participants included the American Legion Honor Guard, Marine Corps League Detachment 1109, American Legion Auxiliary Post 212, Sons of the American Legion, Cub Scout Pack 58 Park Rapids and Dave Traxler, Honor Guard Commander. The American Legion Post 212 organized the military Color Guard and Honor Guard.

Deb Rogers sang the National Anthem.

Parade judges were Bill and Sherry Smith and Mayor Nancy Carroll. The parade announcer was Dave Konshok.

The parade sound system was operated by Matt Winskowski with Krank It Up Entertainment.

City of Park Rapids and Public Works Department employees helped, along with the Park Rapids Police Department and Chief Terry Eilers, and the Hubbard County Sheriff's Department and Sheriff Cory Aukes.

Parade sponsors included:

Cherry Bomb: Lamb Weston RDO Frozen, St. Joseph's Area Health Services, Thielen Motors and Lemongrass Salon.

Roman Candle: Minnesota Energy, American Family Insurance - Steve Noonan Agency.

Firecracker: Lemongrass Salon and Smokey Hills Outdoor Store.

Sparkler: Northway Insurance of Park Rapids, C'mon Inn, Hubbard County DAC and RiverBend Home Expressions.

The parade coordinating committee included Kelly Simonson and Katie Magozzi, with parade and program support by Michael and Jane Larsen (Lakeside Carpet), Rod Nordberg (Hubbard County Historical Society), Betsy Myer (St. Joseph's Area Health Services), Joe and Isabell Myer, Steve and Linda Haugland Family (Primerica Financial Services), David Velazquez, Fred Rogers and Lane Nelson (Minnesota Folklore Theater), Casey Mitchell, and Kirk and Lauren Lowman.

Pie Baking Contest results

Winners have been announced for the Pie Baking Contest & Auction July 4. The event was sponsored by Beagle Books & Bindery in Park Rapids.

Double Crust: Carol Kragenbrink with Three Berry Pie.

Single Crust: Bev Johnson with Chocolate Raspberry Cake Pie.

Juvenile: Lauren Bakke & Katie Larson with Key Lime w/ chocolate graham cracker crust pie.

Cream or Custard: Diane Wallace with Baked Chocolate Cream.

Best in Show: Diane Wallace.

A total of 27 pies were entered in the contest, a new record. The auction raised $746 for the Park Rapids Area Library.