Weather Forecast


Township results tabulated; some candidates win by write-in votes

Hubbard County's township residents headed to the polls to determine who will orchestrate the grassroots governmental bodies.

n Akeley Township incumbent clerk Tom Beck will return. Incumbent supervisor Duane Splittstoesser will continue in the role, earning 113 votes; candidate Jacob Emmeck garnering 110.

n In Arago Township, treasurer Amy Peterson, supervisor Charlene Christenson and chair Pat Kimball were re-elected.

Voters approved extending the terms of supervisors to six years on a 240 to 90-vote margin. This does not include the clerk or treasurer positions, the terms to remain at four years.

n In Badoura Township, clerk Luanne Schroeder and supervisor Dave Andress were re-elected.

Township residents approved eliminating the existing zoning ordinance and will adopt the county ordinance.

n Clay Township clerk Margie Vik and supervisors Jeff Haukebo and Norman Leistikow were re-elected.

n Clover Township clerk Theresa Ohm and supervisor Lynden Nelson will return to office.

n In Farden Township, incumbent treasurer Wanda Arenz was re-elected and supervisor John Nyberg, running unopposed, will return to office. Dennis Bergeron earned 225 votes and Joe Schmid 160 for the Seat C supervisor position.

n Guthrie Township clerk Amanda Lofthus, treasurer Rebecca Beevor and supervisor Michael Schmidt will return to office.

n In Hendrickson Township supervisor Aaron Rairdon and clerk Linda Blanchard were re-elected.

n In Henrietta Township, Brenda Carpenter, running unopposed, won the special election for Seat B. Dacle Schmid Jr. won Seat C with 531 votes; Ed DeLaHunt received 296. Gary Nasser and Russell Johnsrud, running unopposed won the D and E seats.

No one filed for the clerk position. There were several write-in candidates but a three-way tie precluded declaring a winner.

n Hubbard Township incumbent clerk Laura Kujawa and incumbent supervisors Terry Kimball and Jim Simpson were elected.

n In Lake Alice Township, Jolene Devine claimed 23 votes to win the town treasurer position and Patti Peroni 10. Roy Hangstrom was re-elected and William Devine will fill the remainder of a vacant position. No one filed for the Seat B position but Lance Edelman received 11 write-in votes.

n In Lake Emma Township, treasurer Mavis Trenholm and supervisor Brian Behrens were re-elected.

n Incumbent Daryl Bessler claimed 124 votes and Donald Ferris 63 votes in their bid for Seat C in Lake George Township. Incumbent Joyce Harvey will continue as clerk.

n In Lakeport Township, Marcy Anderson was re-elected clerk and Karen Keener, supervisor. John Miller won Seat B with 260 votes to Micheal Fallgren's 101.

n In Mantrap Township, clerk Betsy Anderson, treasurer John Weber and supervisors Milica Stanfel and Steve Keranen were re-elected.

n Nevis Township treasurer Kathy Edwards and supervisor Dan Edstrom were re-elected.

n In Pine Point Township, Dan Yliniemi and Paul Tretbar were re-elected supervisors and Hilma Tretbar is treasurer.

n In Rockwood Township, supervisor Stephen Aultman was re-elected as supervisor. Incumbent clerk Jean Diffley was re-elected clerk as a write-in. As an election judge, she could not formally file for office but she advised constituents she would serve another term.

n Samantha Weiss is clerk in Savannah Township, Kevin Haroldson and Vern Scholz supervisors and Michael Thelen treasurer.

n Schoolcraft Township incumbents Steve Booth, clerk, and supervisors Isidore Tabyanan and Ted VanKempen will remain in office.

n In Steamboat River Township, treasurer Cathy Hanson and Gym Scott will return to their positions.

n Thorpe Township treasurer Lorraine Gabbert and supervisors Lorlie Harrington and Isaiah Mooney were re-elected.

n Vern Peterson and Mary Muller will return to their respective supervisor seats in White Oak Township and Marlys Lehn as East Hubbard County Fire District representative seat. Sue Gray will remain clerk.