Weather Forecast


Schroeder to serve as Nevis mayor; Mitchell to complete Akeley mayor term

Paul Schroeder will serve as the next Nevis mayor, the uncontested candidate earning 158 votes, with two write-ins.

Candidates for the two council seats, John Plumley and Thomas Haag, won 120 and 75 votes, respectively. Vern Wolff's name appeared on the ballot, earning 73 votes, but he withdrew because of health concerns.

There were seven write-in ballots cast.

Andrew Lindow earned 983 votes in his bid for the Nevis School Board. Incumbents Gary Stennes and Marv Vredenburg will return as members with 669 and 620 votes, respectively. Kindra Walker Kuklock received 478 votes. There were 207 write-ins.

Jennifer Mitchell won the bid to complete the two-year Akeley mayor's term. There were 30 write-in ballots cast.

The three council seats will be assumed by Heather Moore, who earned 106 votes, and incumbents Brian Hitchcock, 98, and Terry Chalich, with 56 votes. Cliff Johnson, who withdrew from the election but whose name appeared on the ballot, received 64 votes. Forty-one write-in ballots were cast.

In an uncontested Park Rapids city race, Mayor Nancy Carroll was re-elected with 1,118 votes. There were 57 write-ins. For city council, Patrick Mikesh had 851 votes and Paul Utke had 1,056 votes to stay on the council.

In the uncontested Park Rapids School District elections, Stephanie Carlson earned 3,873 votes, Dennis Dodge claimed 3,764 and Karol Savage 3,505 votes.

Walker-Hackensack-Akeley School District voters rejected a $500 per pupil operating levy by a 56 percent margin with 1,615 saying yes, 2,464 no.

Voters elected Terry Freeman, Barb Sherman and Steven Day to the WHA School Board.