Weather Forecast


Franken says federal disaster declaration to trigger flood-recovery resources for 21 southern Minnesota counties

MINNESOTA [10/14/10] - Sen. Al Franken (D-Minn.) said today the new federal disaster declaration issued last night by President Obama will trigger federal resources to help 21 southern Minnesota counties recover from recent major flooding.

"I am very pleased that President Obama has issued a federal disaster declaration for flooded communities in southern Minnesota," Franken said. "I toured some of the flooded communities and saw firsthand how these communities have been hard-hit and these federal resources will help them begin the recovery effort and repair the damage. My staff and I will continue to work with state and local officials to get these resources out to local communities in this recovery effort."

The 21 counties designated for public assistance in the federal declaration are Blue Earth, Cottonwood, Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Martin, Mower, Murray, Olmsted, Pipestone, Rice, Rock, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, Watonwan, and Winona Counties. Direct federal assistance is authorized.

The declaration will mean that the federal government will cover 75 percent of the cost to repair or replace public infrastructure in the designated counties. It also includes hazard mitigation funds that can help communities to take steps to prevent damage from future flooding.