Weather Forecast


Park Rapids nurse named to 16-member state board

Deb Haagenson

A local nurse will soon join a board that makes statewide decisions concerning safe and ethical nursing practices.

Deb Haagenson, vice president of patient care and chief nursing officer at St. Joseph's Area Health Services, has been appointed to the Minnesota Board of Nursing.

Gov. Pawlenty announced that Haagenson, along with four other nurses, are the newest members of the board.

Haagenson has worked for MeritCare clinics in Detroit Lakes and Pelican Rapids prior to moving to Park Rapids, where she has now held her position at St. Joseph's for the past four years.

She was also a member of the North Dakota Board of Nursing for eight years.

"It was interesting and challenging and a tremendous learning opportunity," she said adding that she's "very excited about this appointment."

The Minnesota Board of Nursing's mission is to ensure that the public will have access to competent, safe and ethical practitioners in the profession.

Haagenson will join 15 other board members in creating policy during her four-year term.

She said the board's purpose is to protect the public by providing safe practices, educational programs and discipline.

Although licensed nurses are required to have knowledge of nursing rules and regulations, Haagenson said her position on the board will only deepen her knowledge.

"I see it as an opportunity to learn and promote safe nursing practice in Minnesota," she said.

Haagenson will be meeting with the board twice every other month beginning this October.

Newest members on the board come from all around the state. They are: Judy Anderson of Willmar; Deborah Meyer of Eveleth; and Amy Witt of Lake Elmo. Marcia Farinacci of St. Paul, has been reappointed for another term.