Weather Forecast


One-act play competitions Saturday

The Park Rapids Area High School one-act cast and crew includes, front, from left, Natasha Shabaiash, Jesseca Prichett, Danielle Lockrem, Hannah Fischer, Kate Westphal, Michelle Farlee, Danielle Hill and Taylor Wheeler, center, Emily Grimes, and back, Aaron Hamblin, Joseph Bannerman, Tracey Matheny, Savanna Deitchler, Kalee Holland, Nathan Carlson, Sarah Schultz, Jimmy Farmer, Jessica Kurtzweg, Lewis Johnson and Brandon Haller. (Jean Ruzicka / Enterprise)

The final production of the Park Rapids Area High School drama season will be the one-act play performance of "The Chronicles of Jane, Book 7," by Alan Haehnel.  

The actors will perform for the Minnesota State High School League 24A sub-section competition Saturday, Jan. 28. PRAHS is once again the host for the contest to be held in the auditorium beginning at 9 a.m.

The last three years, the Park Rapids drama one-act team has gone to state and starred, a school record.

Park Rapids holds the state record for advancing to state, the drama crew heading to finals 26 times.

The Park Rapids play tells the story of Jane, a teenager of such prowess that, at last count, over 37,000 people in 18 countries wanted to be her.  She assembles her friends and followers who assist her in retelling the story of one of the greatest challenges in her heroic career - the dreaded tale of "The Term Paper."  

Can she defeat her adversaries and finish her paper?  Of course she can, for she is ....Jane!   

Six schools - Laporte, Menahga, Nevis, Park Rapids, Sebeka and Walker-Hackensack-Akeley - will participate in the contest this year.

First and second place performances will go on to the 6A Section contest to be held in Wadena at Wadena Memorial Auditorium the following Saturday, Feb. 4.

The one-act play taking first place at sections will go on to state in the O'Shaughnessy Auditorium at St. Catherine University campus in St. Paul Thursday, Feb. 9.  

Both sub-sections and sections contests are free to the public.

The Park Rapids cast is expected to take the stage at approximately 9:45 a.m.

Awards will be announced at about 2 p.m.