Weather Forecast


Wrestlers close regular season with loss

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Park Rapids, 56470
Park Rapids Minnesota PO Box 111 56470

     Three pins in the final three matches rallied Fosston/Bagley to a 44-36 win over the Park Rapids wrestling team last Thursday night at Fosston.


     The Greyhounds jumped out to a 10-0 lead before pins by Andrew Goltz at 120 pounds, Jared Sunram at 126 and Nolan Booge at 132 gave Park Rapids an 18-10 advantage. Goltz trailed 4-0 before his pin at the 4:40 mark while Sunram used a reversal in the third period to tie the match at 7-7 before a takedown in overtime led to a pin at the 6:45 mark. Booge jumped out to an 8-0 lead before recording a pin at the 2:26 mark.

     Cody Dravis’ pin at the 1:47 mark at 145, Justin Dravis’ pin at the 5:57 mark at 160 and John Kyllonen’s pin in 35 seconds at 182 kept the Panthers in front 36-26.

     The Greyhounds won the final three matches for the win.

     Fosston/Bagley improved to 8-7 in dual meets while the Panthers fell to 10-12 in their regular-season finale.

     The Panthers received the No. 8 seed for the Section 8A tournament and will face No. 9 Red Lake County Central today (Saturday) at 11 a.m. at Thief River Falls. The winner of that match wrestles No. 1 Frazee at 12:30.

     In the other first-round matches, No. 6 Crookston wrestles No. 11 West Marshall with the winner facing No. 3 United North Central and No. 7 Fertile-Beltrami faces No. 10 Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis with the winner drawing No. 2 Badger/Greenbush/Middle River. No. 4 Mahnomen-Waubun faces No. 5 Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton in a quarterfinal match.

106: Connor Lomen, FB, major decision over Landen Burlingame 9-1. 113: Cole Olson, FB, pinned Dawson Roth :28. 120: Andrew Goltz, PR, pinned Tommy Snobl 4:40. 126: Jared Sunram, PR, pinned Lane Olson 6:45. 132: Nolan Booge, PR, pinned Caleb Snobl 2:26. 138: Ben Marx, FB, pinned Logan Johnson 1:44. 145: Cody Dravis, PR, pinned Jake Ubert 1:47. 152: Alexi Bode, FB, major decision over Zach Nelson 15-4. 160: Justin Dravis, PR, pinned Sam Manecke 5:57. 170: Nick Vig, FB, pinned Zach Hocking 1:02. 182: John Kyllonen, PR, pinned Zach Larsen :35. 195: Zach Como, FB, pinned Keith McDaniel 4:37. 220: Luke Juve, FB, pinned Logan Veo 3:19. 285: Alex Nelson, FB, pinned Chris Baxter 3:12.