Weather Forecast

Kent Cease chipped onto the No. 1 green during Sunday's final round of the 2-Man Best Ball/Scramble Tournament at HCC.

Johnson, Hamm win 2-Man Best Ball/Scramble

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Park Rapids,Minnesota 56470
Park Rapids Enterprise
Johnson, Hamm win 2-Man Best Ball/Scramble
Park Rapids Minnesota PO Box 111 56470

A sizzling round on the front side Sunday sparked Troy Johnson and Tim Hamm to the title in the annual 2-Man Best Ball/Scramble Tournament at Headwaters Country Club.


Johnson and Hamm used a 10-under par 26 on the first nine holes of Sunday's scramble play to card a 58 for a two-day total of 127. Clint Cornell and Matt Schneider finished second with a 128.

The eventual winners faced a four-stroke deficit after finishing Saturday's 18 holes of best ball play with a 69. Mike Cleland and Andy Cleland shot a 31 on the back side with three birdies and an eagle on No. 15 for a 65 to tie Adam Riddering and Jake Mooney for the lead after the first day. Riddering and Mooney used six birdies for a 31 on the front side. Cornell and Schneider were one shot back at 66 as four birdies on the back side led to a 32. Tied for fourth at 67 were the duos of Mark Frie and Rick Frieburg and Tom Jenkins and Kevin Krigbaum.

Johnson and Hamm began Sunday's final round with eight straight birdies before an eagle on No. 9 led to a 26. Birdies on No. 10, No. 13, No. 15 and No. 18 led to a 32 on the back side and the win.

Schneider and Cornell played another solid round on Sunday as birdies on the first two and final three holes on the front side led to a 31 and birdies on No. 12, No. 13 and No. 18 and an eagle on No. 15 led to another 31 on the back side for a two-day total of 128.

Riddering and Mooney carded four birdies on the front side for a 32 and four birdies on the back side for a 33 to finish third with a 65 and two-day total of 130. The Clelands carded a 66 on Sunday for a 131 to share fourth place with Brent Jacobson and Sean Cheslock, who used seven birdies on the front side for a 29 en route to a 63.

Frie and Frieburg finished sixth at 132, Dan Johnson and Chad Beauchamp took seventh at 133, and Jenkins and Krigbaum were eighth at 134. A total of 28 teams competed in the scratch division.

In the handicap division, Joe Kuehn and Wade Hanson led the 45-team field with a 122. Darren Johnson and Jim Olstad were second at 126.

Kuehn and Hanson carded rounds of 32 and 30 for a 62 during Saturday's best ball play and followed with rounds of 29 and 31 for a 60 during Sunday's scramble to claim the title.

Johnson and Olstad opened with a 68 Saturday before a 26 on the back side led to a 58 on Sunday. Todd Hallett and Bill Forbrook followed a 69 on Saturday with a pair of 29s on Sunday to earn third place with a 127.

Six teams tied for fourth place at 128. Jim Talbot and Ed Talbot carded back-to-back rounds of 64. Matt Katzenmeyer and Lyle Katzenmeyer joined Dustin Berttunen and Ron Litzau by carding rounds of 65 and 63. Bob Jamison and Dave Kloss followed a 66 with a 62. Chris Sherlock and Gene Forbrook shot rounds of 67 and 61. Maury Hanson and Dave Laine rebounded from a 68 to shoot a 60.

Tying for 10th place at 129 were the duos of Lee Davis and Mike Erickson, Ken Malloy and Jeff Kruger, and Randy Hanson and Terry Hanson.