Weather Forecast

Ron Litzau watched his drive off the No. 1 tee box during the final round of the 2-Man Best Ball/Scramble at Headwaters Country Club Sunday. Litzau and Dustin Berttunen carded a 122 to win the Handicap Division.

HCC hosts 2-Man Best Ball/Scramble

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Park Rapids, 56470
Park Rapids Minnesota PO Box 111 56470

     Both the Scratch Division and Handicap Division champions were decided with birdies on the first hole of sudden-death playoffs to cap off this year’s 2-Man Best Ball/Scramble tournament at Headwaters Country Club.


     Derek Hasselberg and Toby Palmiscno carded a birdie on the first hole to win a three-team playoff and capture the Scratch Division title with a 130. The Colin Bork/Duane Severson and Dustin Harris/Ryan Ames duos also carded 130s to force a playoff.

     In the Handicap Division, Dustin Berttunen and Ron Litzau carded a birdie on the first playoff hole to defeat Emily Roering and Pat Roering after both teams carded 122s after the two-day tournament.

     The Scratch Division was a close battle both days as Hasselberg and Palmiscno, Bork and Severson, and Harris and Ames followed 67s during Saturday’s best ball play with 63s during Sunday’s scramble portion of the tournament.

     Hasselberg and Palmiscno used birdies on No. 1, No. 4 and No. 7 for a 33 on the front side and birdies on No. 15 and No. 18 for a 34 on the back side for a 67 on Saturday.

     Harris and Ames used birdies on No. 2, No. 3 and No. 4 to offset a bogey on No. 7 for a 34 on the front side and followed with birdies on No. 10, No. 15 and No. 17 for a 33 on the back side for their 67 on Saturday.

     Birdies on No. 1, No. 3, No. 4 and No. 9 led to a 32 on the front side for Bork and Severson Saturday while a birdie on No. 15 resulted in a 35 on the back side for a 67.

     During Sunday’s final round of scramble play, Palmiscno and Hasselberg opened with four straight birdies while birdies on No. 6, No, 8 and No. 9 resulted in a 29. Harris and Ames also opened with a 29 as birdies on No. 2 and No. 3, an eagle on No. 4, and birdies on No. 5, No. 7 and No. 9 gave them a share of the lead. Bork and Severson fell two shots back as birdies on No. 1, No. 3, No. 4, No. 5 and No. 9 led to a 31.

     On the back side, Palmiscno and Hasselberg were even after a birdie on No. 15 and a bogey on No. 16 before birdies on No. 17 and No. 18 led to a 34. Harris and Ames also carded a 34 on the back side with birdies on No. 10 and No. 12, a bogey on No. 13 and a birdie on No. 18. Bork and Severson rallied as birdies on No. 13, No. 15, No. 17 and No. 18 led to a 32 and a share of the lead.

     Palmiscno and Hasselberg birdied the first playoff hole to claim the title.

     Following the top teams in the Scratch Division were Dana Husby and Johnny Miller (fourth with a 131), Taylor Schroeder and Steve Brown (fifth with a 132), Kyle Bahe and Bryant Black (sixth with a 133), and Troy Johnson and Don Cherrey (seventh with a 134). There were 29 teams who competed in the Scratch Division.

     In the Handicap Division, Tim Usher and Ron Usher tied John Erickson and Frank Lamb for third place with 124s. Paul Kostelecky and Scot Ringdahl finished fifth at 127 while three teams - Mark Anderson and Kurt Mortenson, Mike Brown and Tom Brown, and Mike Smith and Ron Johnson – tied for sixth place at 128. Terry Hanson and Randy Hanson finished ninth at 129 while Bryan Kerby and Kyle Kerby finished 10th at 131. There were 40 teams competing in the Handicap Division.